WOU is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of items from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!
Start your search on the library homepage:
Ebooks can be read on any computer. Learn more about ebooks here.
You can also visit Summit libraries in person: Summit Libraries and locations
Academic Search Premier has newspapers, magazines, and academic articles.
Academic OneFile has newspapers, magazines, academic articles, and multimedia including video, blogs, and podcasts.
America: History & Life provides access to journal articles, media, dissertations and book reviews on American history.
Biography Reference Center contains more than 450,000 full-text biographies and obituaries, and more than 32,000 photographs of notable individuals. Content is drawn from many highly respected reference sources published by H. W. Wilson and others, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, and World Artists. Search by name, profession or field of renown, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, birth date, death date, keyword, and availability of images.
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides academic articles published in more than 600 journals covering communication and mass media studies.
Films On Demand is a web-based service for streaming educational videos distributed by Films Media Group. This vast archive currently includes more than 6,100 complete titles and 63,000 individual segments which may be viewed legally by current WOU students, faculty and staff anytime, anywhere. Videos are organized into comprehensive curriculum-based collections. View in Windows Media or Flash format. Select Communications from the drop down subject menu.
Women and Social Movements in the United States provides online full-text access to more than 100 projects that present and interpret historic documents related to women's history in American activism, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. The site includes thousands of primary documents, analyses, images, and charts, and links out to relevant websites. Also includes the online edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary, Notable American Women (1971-2004).
Vital Speeches of the Day is a journal with text of speeches on a wide range of political topics (1934-present).
Critical Review: A Journal of Politics and Society is a political science journal that has published articles on presidential rhetoric (1997-present).
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank is a database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
TED Talks gives you access to thousands of these popular short speeches (all are 18 minutes or less) on almost all topics - from science to business to global issues.
Speeches and Speechmakers is a collection of resources on famous historic speeches maintained by the University of Iowa.
American Speeches 2nd volume contains famous American speeches from Lincoln to Clinton.
2nd floor, E183 .A498 2006
American voices: an encyclopedia of contemporary orators
1st floor Reference, PN4012.D85 A53 2005
Voices of multicultural America : notable speeches delivered by African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, 1790-1995
1st floor Reference, PS663.M55 V64 1996
Lend me your ears: great speeches in history
3rd floor, PN6122 .L4 1992
The Penguin book of twentieth-century speeches
3rd floor, PN6121 .P38 1992
American National Biography provides biographies for thousands of influential Americans written by experts in their fields
1st floor Reference, CT213 .A68 1999 (volumes 1-24)
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives American biographies. Volumes organized by date of death through 2008
2nd floor, E176 .S37 1998 (volumes 1-8)
Who's Who In America provides concise biographies for living Americans
Past Editions: 2nd floor, E176.W642
Keep in mind that these are just a few examples. You will find other useful books by searching in Primo or browsing the shelves near the books listed.