Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Interpreting Studies Research Skills: Finding Articles from Library Databases

This research guide has resources that will be helpful as you research topics in Interpreting Studies

Library Databases

Here is a list of library databases useful in researching Interpreting Studies issues: 

Communication and Mass Media Complete Provides research articles in communication and mass media including articles about sign language, deafness, deaf culture, and Deaf people. 

Education Full Text (including ERIC) provides has articles relating to teaching and education published since 1995. Also includes citations and full text from the ERIC database (which include curricula, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials addressing topics in education). 

PsychInfo has academic journal articles covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection has academic articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

SAGE Complete A-Z List
Peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Education, Nursing & Public Health, Psychology, Sociology published by SAGE and participating societies.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.

OTHER DATABASES 

JSTOR Arts & Sciences

Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.

 

The following are general content databases: 

Academic Search Premier has newspapers, magazines, and academic articles.

A complete listing of the WOU databases, with descriptions.

 

Find it at WOU

This tutorial explains the various scenarios for getting the full text of an article when you click on Find it @ WOU.