Reference librarians and staff are trained to help library users identify topics, find and use appropriate resources for research, and evaluate information. Professional research assistance is available at all hours and through multiple modes of communication.
Web Site
Hamersly Library's Web site serves as a gateway to the catalog, Summit, electronic indexes and other databases, plus Internet search engines, directories and subject-related material from the World Wide Web. Information about services and policies, staff, and events is available here. You may also reserve study rooms and media equipment through online calendars.
The Catalog and Summit
Use the catalog to find books, periodical titles, audiovisual materials, government documents, and other materials in our library. You can search by keyword, author, title, journal title, and subject. The catalog also connects to Summit, a combined catalog of Oregon and Washington academic libraries.
Electronic Databases
Databases of journal, magazine and newspaper articles, many with full text, and others with abstracts, plus a variety of other electronic resources are available online at library workstations as well as on and off campus.
Off-Campus Access
Most electronic resources on the library's Web site are available throughout campus and off campus. The catalog's direct internet address is https://library.wou.edu , and Summit can be reached through the catalog or by accessing http://summit.worldcat.org . Other databases are only available to current students, faculty, and staff and must be entered into via the library's Web site.
Instruction
The Research Coach is an online collection of learning tools relating to conducting bibliographic-based research. Our online tutorial, Hamersly TILT, incorporates interactivity to teach fundamental information concepts such as selecting appropriate sources, searching effectively, and evaluating materials. Online subject guides are available to help you learn how to locate and use materials. The librarians teach library and research skills and specialized workshops on an individual basis and in group sessions. To schedule a class session or individual assistance call 503-838-8892.
Distance Education Services
Students taking WOU courses at an off-campus site or via the Internet are eligible for the same library services as on-campus students. Among these services are delivery of books, articles and documents to the student, interlibrary loan, access to databases and full-text articles, reference help and other services described in this guide. The special concerns of these students are addressed in the Distance Ed Services section of the Web site.
Borrowing Materials
All Western students, faculty, and staff may check out circulating materials from WOU's Hamersly Library and borrow materials from other libraries. Your validated WOU ID card serves as a library card.
Reserve Materials
Reserve materials for classes are held in the reserve area behind the Checkout Desk. All reserve materials are listed in the catalog. Print reserve items circulate for four hours, one day, three days, or seven days as determined by the faculty member who submitted the reserve request.
Summit Borrowing
This service allows you to place your own requests for books and some other materials found in the Summit catalog. (Periodicals and reference books are not loaned.) You can place your requests from any computer that can access Summit. Materials usually arrive at WOU's Checkout Desk in 3-5 business days. This service is available to current students, faculty and staff at Western.
Renewals
Borrowers may renew most items themselves, online through My Library in the catalog. Materials may be renewed by phone at 503-838-8902 or in person at the Checkout Desk. If another borrower has requested the item, the renewal is blocked. Two renewals are allowed without the need to bring the books back to the library. Renewals for Interlibrary Loan items must be requested from the loaning institution; please call 503-838-8884 or email ilibloan@wou.edu at least three days before the item is due so that we may request your renewal.
Returns
Return materials to the book drops, or, if you want a receipt, return the materials to a Checkout Desk staff member. Book drops are located near the Checkout Desk and outside near both main entrances to the library. Please return Reserves materials directly to the Checkout Desk.
Please refer to our Circulation Policies for loan periods for various materials.
Interlibrary loan is a method used to request journal articles and other library materials not available in the WOU Library and not available through Summit. Our library borrows from and lends to many other libraries throughout the country. This service is for WOU students, current and emeritus faculty, and staff and is a service subsidized by the library. Most articles arrive within three to five days, most books within two weeks. We deliver journal articles to you electronically.
Increasingly, databases integrate interlibrary loan request abilities into their systems. Look for buttons or links that read “Find it @ WOU” (usually at the individual item level rather than the list level). For article requests not found through one of these databases, the library’s Web site has a request form.
While the students, faculty and staff of Western Oregon University are the library's primary constituency, Hamersly Library staff serve members of the general public as well. Some of the available services are outlined here.
Reference
Reference librarians can direct an information search and assist in using materials available in an academic library. Reference and Instructional Services Reference librarians and staff are trained to help library users identify topics, find and use appropriate resources for research, and evaluate information. Professional research assistance is available at all hours and through multiple modes of communication.
Circulation
A special borrower's card enables members of the community to check out books from Hamersly Library. Those who qualify for this card include adult residents of the local area; WOU alumni; emeritus faculty; spouses and domestic partners of WOU faculty; Oregon Military Academy participants; faculty, staff and students of Summit institutions. Ask at the Checkout Desk for details.
Summit and Interlibrary Loan
We regret that we cannot extend Summit borrowing and interlibrary loan services to our community users. However, public libraries usually offer interlibrary loan services to their patrons and can borrow from other public libraries as well as academic libraries.
Computer Use
Community members and special borrowers may use the library workstations for educational purposes, but only during hours of low use when workstations are still available to primary users. Local high school students whose instructor schedules a class or who consult with a librarian themselves may also use the workstations under the same conditions. All community users must sign in at the Information Desk.
Facilities
Community users are welcome to use the other facilties of Hamersly Library. The library's primary users may take precedence with certain facilities, such as group study rooms.