Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Website: Policies

A guide containing much of the library website content.



All WOU students, faculty, and staff may check out circulating materials from the Hamersly Library and the Technology Resource Center. Your WOU ID card validated for the current academic term serves as your library card and is required in order to check out materials. WOU alumni, spouses of WOU faculty, emeritus WOU faculty and staff, adult residents of Polk, Marion, Benton, and Linn counties, and Oregon Military Academy participants may register as special borrowers to receive limited borrowing privileges. Photo ID and proof of address or affiliation is required. Ask at the checkout desk for further details.

There are two systems through which WOU students, faculty, and staff can obtain materials from other libraries: Summit and Interlibrary Loan.  These services are not available to special borrowers.

Summit is the shared catalog and borrowing system of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of academic libraries in Oregon, Washington and Idaho.   is used to request most books, videos, and CD that WOU does not own. They may also borrow circulating materials from Orbis Cascade Alliance member libraries, either by visiting member libraries in person or by requesting materials via Summit. Requests for articles are handled through the Interlibrary Loan process and not through Summit.

Interlibrary Loan Interlibrary Loan is used to request articles from journals and any books, videos, and CDs not available in Summit.

Loan Periods

Loan Periods

Whenever you check out materials, you will receive a receipt listing the date that each item is due. We suggest that you retain each receipt as a reminder. You may also see due dates and renew items through My Library in the catalog. The Checkout Desk (503-838-8902) will give you due date information or will renew books over the phone. Additionally and as a courtesy, we will notify you via e-mail when materials you have checked out are overdue. The reminders do not substitute for your knowledge of the due dates. For students, staff, and faculty, the reminders are sent to your WOU email account. Community borrowers need to inform the Checkout Desk with any updated email information.

Standard Loan Periods Students Faculty Staff Community Borrowers
Books, documents and periodicals 6 weeks (plus 1 renewals) 6 months (plus 1 renewals)
6 weeks (plus 1 renewals)
6 weeks (plus 1 renewals)
K-12 curriculum materials
1 week (plus 1 renewal)
3 week (plus 1 renewal)
1 week (plus 1 renewal)
Do not circulate
Summit Loans
6 weeks (no renewals) or 6 days for selected materials
6 weeks (no renewals) or 6 days for selected materials
6 weeks (no renewals) or 6 days for selected materials
Not available
Interlibrary Loans
Loan period varies
Loan period varies
Loan period varies
Not available
AV materials 1 week (plus 1 renewal)
3 week (plus 1 renewal)
1 week (plus 1 renewal)
Do not circulate
Reference materials, microforms, newspapers
Do not circulate for any patrons
Print reserve materials Loan period varies from four hours to seven days Loan period varies from four hours to seven days Loan period varies from four hours to seven days Professors' reserves not available;
WOU materials 4 hours
State-adopted textbooks Do not circulate for any patrons

We have established these standard loan periods in order to provide equitable access to materials in our collection for all patrons. If the standard loan period for a particular item does not meet your needs, please let us know. We consider making adjustments to loan periods on a case-by-case basis in order to accommodate special needs.



Borrowers can request renewals via My Library function in the catalog. Renewals may also be requested by calling (503) 838-8902 or by visiting the checkout desk in person. For WOU-owned materials, you are generally allowed up to one renewal. Renewals will be denied if the book has been requested by another patron. Materials currently on reserve for a course cannot be renewed. Summit materials may not be renewed; however, you can request another copy of the item a few days before your item is due, then swap the copies in a single trip to the library.  Interlibrary Loan (ILL) materials  may sometimes be renewed, depending on the response of the library who loaned the materials to us.  

The purpose of our renewal policy is to provide equitable access to materials in our collection for all patrons. If you have a special need that our policies do not accommodate, please let us know and we will consider adjusting the loan period for the item(s) you require.



Return materials to the book drop near the checkout desk or to one of the two marked book drops located outside the building. If you want a receipt, please return materials directly to a staff member at the checkout desk. The two outside book drops are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. One is located at the west entrance on Monmouth Avenue, and the other is in the parking lot near the east entrance. Books returned to the outside book drops after hours are checked in as of the date that the library was last open. For example, if you return a book to an outside book drop before we open on Wednesday morning, we will use Tuesday as the check in date.



Traditional materials (such as books and videos) placed on reserve for classes are held behind the checkout desk. Reserve items can be checked out for four hours, one day, three days, or seven days as determined by the faculty member who submitted the reserve request. Use the Reserves Search in the catalog to locate and retrieve the information needed to obtain materials on reserve.


Overdue and Other Fines

WOU circulating books $.50 per item per day
WOU periodicals, AV materials $.50 per item per day
Reserve materials and equipment (except equipment) $.50 per item per hour
Summit loans $.50 per item per day
Interlibrary loans $1 per item per day
Lost or damaged material (except equipment) Up to $115 per item

Fines are billed through the University's Business Office and can be paid at the Cashier's window in the WOU Administration building during regular business hours.

Food and Drink

Food, drink and tobacco

Leave No Trace. The library has adapted the following Leave No Trace principles of outdoor ethics to its food and drink guidelines.* The primary goal is to ensure both the comfort of library users and a long life for library collections, furnishings, and equipment.

  • Plan accordingly: If you do carry in food or drinks, avoid messy foods that may damage library material and facilities or be disruptive to others, and have drinks in containers unlikely to spill.
  • Dispose of recyclables and waste properly.
  • Leave what you find: Leave library resources, furnishings, and equipment as you found them--or in better condition than you found them.
  • Be considerate of other visitors: Respect nearby library users, the next library user who will use your space, and the next generation of library users.
  • Report accidents to library staff as soon as possible.

Specific Prohibitions:

  • Use of tobacco in any form is prohibited throughout the Hamersly Library.  
    Smoking areas are designated to the south of both outside entrances.
  • Alcohol is strictly prohibited.  The library complies with WOU's alcohol policy.
  • The library reserves the right to ask patrons to eat specific foods elsewhere.

Love Your Library ~ Leave No Trace

* For more information on Leave No Trace principles, visit the Leave No Trace Center for Outdoor Ethics website:

creative commons attribution

This work was adapted from that of Folke Bernadotte Memorial Library of Gustavus Adolphus College and is licensed under a Creative Commons license 3.0.

rev. April 2010

Appealing Charges

Appealing Charges

If you think the library has made an error that resulted in a financial charge, or if you have a unique situation that made it difficult for you to return or renew materials on time, you may file an appeal. Charges may be upheld, reduced, or waived.

The following reasons are generally not regarded as valid for canceling or reducing charges:

  • Forgetting or not knowing due dates, amount of fines, or library policy
  • Disagreeing with fee structure or library policy
  • Loaning the item to a third party
  • Being too busy or out of town
  • Claiming that your need was greater than another’s or that you were not done with the item
  • Not receiving or not reading a courtesy overdue reminder
  • Transportation problems
  • Financial problems

Appeal forms are available electronically or at the Checkout Desk. Return the form to the Checkout Desk or attach it to an email addressed to Please file the appeal within 60 days of the charge notification from the WOU business office. The appeal decision will be made within two weeks of filing the form, and you will be notified by email.


Appeal decisions are made by the Public Services Librarian and library staff. The committee takes into consideration your appeal statement, applicable data from the library's circulation system, and previous communication you had with the library, as well as your historic record of library fines. If you wish, the initial decision may be appealed to the Dean of Hamersly Library.

Continuing Access Fee

Library access for students not currently registered for classes

Students who require library privileges during a term of non-course enrollment (for example, during thesis research or to finish incompletes) need to pay the $50 Continuing Access Fee.  Either the Business Office (in Lieuallen Administration Bldg.) or Lori Pagel in the library can charge this fee to your account (detail code A077).

The Continuing Access Fee provides you standard student access to library facilities and collections, most notably borrowing from the local collection and through Summit or Interlibrary Loan, as well as off-campus access to the subscription databases. The student is still liable for applicable overdue fines and replacement costs.

Please note that reactivating your account is a manual process--there is no automatic connection between the payment and the activation process, or even a notification to us that you are doing this. You must present confirmation to us that this charge has been added to your account: either a) present to the Checkout Desk a receipt from your WolfWeb account showing the charge, or b) ask to confirm your payment. Then, during standard business hours, we can make the changes necessary for you to have access.

This same fee is charged to Independent Scholars

Independent Scholars

Library access for currently unaffiliated individuals

Independent Scholars are those who desire library privileges beyond the access provided through the free Community Borrowers program and who pay the $50 Continuing Access Fee.  The library may provide Independent Scholar status to alumni or former students, non-admit students, or other interested parties. (Admitted and continuing students not enrolled for any given term may pay the same fee to retain their student status during the term.)

The $50 Continuing Access Fee provides standard student access to library facilities and collections, most notably

  1. borrowing from the local collection and through Summit
  2. access to library ebooks
  3. as well as off-campus access to the subscription databases.

The above services are fixed licensing expenses for the library, and so the fee provides for authorized WOU access to them. 

Additional charges are variable:

A. Per- transaction costs incurred by the library on behalf of the Independent Scholar.  These costs include but are not limited to

  • Borrowing fees and shipping costs for Interlibrary loan (beyond the scope of the Summit borrowing service)
  • Pay-per-view articles.

When borrowing fees and pay-per-view costs apply, we will solicit approval prior to incurring the charge.  We will not solicit approval for any shipping charges before incurring the charge, but those charges will be passed on to the Independent Scholars as they accrue.

B. Overdue fines and replacement costs.

C. Computer printing.

Contact Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon (503-838-9493) for more information about the Independent Scholar status and to begin the application process.

For subsequent terms, after your Independent Scholar status is initially established, contact either Lori Pagel in the library (503-838-8881) or Marilyn Hoeckle in the Business Office to charge the Continuing Access Fee (detail code A077) to your account. Pay either online through the WolfWeb system or in person at the Business Office.  Please note that activating or reactivating your account is a manual process--there is no automatic connection between the payment and the activation process, or even a notification to us that you are doing this. You must present confirmation to us that this charge has been added to your account: either a) present to the Checkout Desk a receipt from your WolfWeb account showing the charge, or b) ask to confirm your payment. Then, during standard business hours, we can make the changes necessary for you to have access.

Proctoring Service

Proctoring Exams

Students of distance education courses may request exam proctoring at Hamersly Library. We are unable to handle the demand to proctor WOU on-campus classes or programs (i.e., make-up exams, entrance or placement exams). We recommend those be handled within the department or division.

Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon, Public Services Librarian, administers the proctoring program, but frequently assigns proctoring duties & responsibilities to other library faculty or staff to accommodate scheduling requests. The specific proctor depends on the day and time arranged for the exam.

There is no charge for this service.

Instructions for Students:

Submit the proctor contact information below to your instructor or distance education office.

Determine when you would like to take your exam, within the time frame allowed by your professor. We can accommodate exams during the library's weekday and Sunday hours, with occasional flexibility into the evenings.

Arrange your exam appointment by contacting Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon (see below). When requesting an appointment, please indicate

  • Your professor's name and the course number
  • Your preference for date and time to begin the exam
  • The time allotted for the exam (how long will your reservation be?)

Bring your photo ID and any required or allowed materials with you to your exam at the Hamersly Library. (driving directions).  Tell the staff at the Information Desk you are here for a proctored exam. 

If necessary, obtain a guest parking permit at the Information Desk.

Foreign Language Achievement Tests

For students who have talked to their advisors about taking a language exam for elective credit, see the Foreign Language Acheivement Testing Service (FLATS) information and registration from Brigham Young University (BYU). As you fill in the registration form, please include the following information:

Proctor Information Results Sent To: (optional)
Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon
Hamersly Library
Western Oregon University
345 N Monmouth Ave
Monmouth, OR  97361
University Registrar
Western Oregon University
345 N Monmouth Ave
Monmouth, OR 97361

Once you have registered and paid for your exam, please contact Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon ( to schedule your testing time.  

You are allowed 2.5 hours to take the exam, but most students finish in about 1.5 hours. See the FLATS FAQ for information about the test content. 

Instructions for Faculty/Distance Education Offices

Send exams and related material to:


Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon , Public Services Librarian* 503-838-9493 *

Lori Bullis (assisting)* 503-838-8894 *

Fax: 503-838-8645

Postal Mail:

Proctoring Staff
Hamersly Library
Western Oregon University
345 N. Monmouth Ave.
Monmouth, OR 97361

Computer Workstation Policies

Computer Workstation Use Policy

The Hamersly Library provides access to the reference area workstations for educational purposes including reference, research and class assignments.


The Library adheres to Western's policy for Acceptable Use of Computing Resources.


Primary Users

Students, faculty and staff of Western Oregon University are considered primary users and will be given priority in the use of the workstations. High school students who are also enrolled in classes at Western are considered primary users. Use is limited to 30 minutes if other primary users are waiting.


Community Users

Community members, eighteen years of age and older may use the workstations for educational purposes, but only during hours of low use when workstations are still available to primary users.


High School Students

High school students may have community user privileges only if accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or teacher, or with identification showing they are part of a WOU sponsored program, or with pre-arranged permission slips from a teacher or WOU library staff member.  

  • Note: Students under high school age are allowed to use Hamersly Library computers, books, and all other resources only when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or teacher.


Procedures for community users, including authorized high school students

Sign in at the Information Desk.
Use is limited to no more than one hour per day. You will be asked to relinquish the workstation at any time if it is needed by a primary user.
Pay for your printed pages at the Checkout Desk
Printing costs for community users are five cents per printed side of each page.


All users of U.S. government information may access the workstations without any of the restrictions outlined above.


Revised September 2002


Test collection

Test Collection


! This is a restricted use collection consisting of more than 125 tests covering education, special education, physical education, sociology, psychology, and criminal justice.


In addition to the tests listed here, there is a group of special education tests which are only available by arrangement with the special education faculty. Please ask for assistance at the Checkout desk if you are completing an assignment that involves one of the special education tests.

Title Index | Acronym Index | Author Index | Test Collection Authorization form


Policies and Procedures Test publishers require that tests and test materials be kept in a secure location and only be accessible to faculty and authorized students under appropriate faculty supervision. Tests are not to be photocopied under any circumstances, nor administered to anyone. In order to comply with these requirements and ensure the integrity and ethical use of tests, the following policies and proceudres are strictly followed:




Supervising faculty must submit name(s) of authorized students using the Test Collection Authorization form. Authorizations expire at the end of a term. Materials will be checked out only to authorized students. Students must be advised about the appropriate use of these materials.




Students are required to have written faculty permission to use the Test Collection. Tests are not to be photocopied under any circumstances or administered to anyone.




Test materials are located at the Reserve Desk and may be checked out for in library use only for two hour periods. A valid patron ID card must be presented to checkout materials.

The contents of the test container must be reviewed with library staff immediately after it is returned to the Reserve Desk. The patron is responsible for the replacement cost of damaged or missing elements. The minimum charge is $10.00; the maximum charge is the full replacement cost of the test ($10-$500+).

Copyright Policy

Copyright Policy

It is the intent of Library and Media Services at Western Oregon University to adhere to the provisions of the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, United States Code Sec. 101 et seq.). Although there continues to be new controversy regarding interpretation of copyright law, this policy represents a sincere effort to operate legally.

  1. Appropriate notices reminding faculty, employees, and students of the Copyright Law are posted at sites where interlibrary loan requests are submitted and on all copy machines.
  2. A similar statement is on interlibrary loan requests forms, paper and electronic, used by patrons to order interlibrary loan photocopied materials.
  3. Records are kept of interlibrary loan photocopies and photocopies of reserve items.
  4. A guide has been prepared to assist faculty in observing copyright laws concerning the placement of photocopies on reserve and for their use in the classroom. Copyright laws, handbooks, and guidelines are available in the Library for anyone's use.

The library disapproves of unauthorized duplication in any form. Employees, and students of the University who willfully disregard the copyright policy are in violation of the Library and Media Services Policy, do so at their own risk, and assume all liability.

Room Use Policy

Room Use Policy

We encourage students, faculty, and staff to take full advantage of the resources of the Hamersly Library, including the group study and meeting rooms. Below is a general Room Use Policy and modified policies for rooms 106, 107, 108 as well as for conference room 301A

Priorities for reservations

  • Instructional uses of library facilities have the highest priority; however, classes may not meet beyond four sessions per class per term. Please see the Exceptions section for more details.
  • Meetings for Library and Media Services or for other campus units, organizations, or clubs
  • Study groups
  • Outside groups affiliated with Western Oregon University
  • Community members and organizations

Students, faculty, and staff may make reservations for one-time only and short-term needs. Groups have a higher priority for group study rooms than individuals, except when individuals need access to the media equipment in the group study rooms.

Individuals and groups may reserve rooms up to a total of 4 hours per day. Exceptions may be made for special events.

Reservation requests must be made at least ONE day in advance.

Reservations may only be made for the current term and may not exceed one term in length. (exceptions may be made for campus units and special meetings).

Patrons can make reservations through the online calendar or by contacting the Information Desk at 503-838-8418. We print and post room reservations every morning, and outside of any reserved time, these rooms are free for walk-in use.

During the last two weeks of each academic term ("Dead week" and Finals week), no outside groups or external agencies (non-WOU groups) will be allowed access to the conference or study rooms.


Repeated and Long-term Usage

Groups requesting repeated and longer-term usage (for example, a study group that meets twice a week all term) may be asked occasionally to make their space available for other functions.

Cancellations & Loss of Reservation

Please contact the Information Desk at 503-838-8418 or to cancel your reservation if you will not be using the room. Reserved rooms that have not been claimed within 30 minutes of the beginning of the reservation will be released for others to use.

Usage of all rooms is monitored by Library staff. If repeated or long-term reservations are going unused, the library will issue warning to or revoke that group’s reservation for the remainder of the term. 

Food and drink

Please refer to the food and drink policy. Catering is allowed in rooms 107, 205, 210 and 301A only.

Room set-up and re-set

Room set up and re-set is the responsibility of the group using the room.  Extra tables and chairs are available upon request for alternate configurations for rooms 107, 116, 205 and 301A.



HL 106, 107, 108, and the Mobile Laptop Cart

In order to allow library instruction to be scheduled in the library classrooms, reservations for peak-hour use* of HL 106, 107, 108, and the Mobile Laptop Cart will not be accepted until the second week of the term. Please contact your librarian if you would like to set up a time for her/him to provide instruction for your classes.

*Peak Hours are Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during weeks 1-7 of Fall, Winter, and Spring terms.

  • We accept reservations for non-peak-hour use at any time. 
  • We do retain a waiting list for the rooms.  Once the reservation moratorium is lifted each term, we enter the room requests into the system in the order they were received. Please send your request to
  • Please consider whether rooms 205, 301A and the 2nd floor Computer Alcove (floor plans) suit your needs

Further use priorities for HL 106 & 108 computer labs:

  1. Other faculty use (up to four sessions per class per term)
  2. Open computer lab

Further use priorities for use of HL 107 classroom:

  1. Other faculty use (up to four sessions per class per term),
  2. Meetings, conferences and special presentations. 
  3. Campus units, organizations, and club activities can be regularly scheduled after 5 p.m. and on weekends.

Straub Conference Room (301A)

This room is one of the nicer meeting spaces in Hamersly Library and on campus. In order to keep the space in excellent condition the room has more restricted use than other rooms in the library.

The priorities for use include:

  1. WOU administration meetings
  2. Receptions
  3. Readings
  4. Workshops
  5. Faculty interviews
  6. Faculty meetings if other appropriate rooms are not available
  7. Overflow work area for Archives materials processing

Other requests for use of this room will be reviewed by the Public Services Librarian on a case-by-case basis.

This room is not available for student group study. There are18 other study rooms of varying sizes available in the library.

Food and drink catered through WOU Food Services may be served in this room. The extra laminated table at the side of the room is available for this purpose.

Contact the Information Desk (503-838-8418) to request use of this room and with any questions concerning these policies.