Erin/Sean-
Is this the correct page? I thought we were using the WOU Archives guide and linking form the website guide, but both this page and the WOU Archives University Archives page currently have content.
CG
The University Archives collects, stores, organizes, promotes, and makes accessible a wide variety of records, publications, photographs, and artifacts about the history of Western since its founding in Monmouth, Oregon in 1856.
Faculty members are encouraged to integrate Western's history into classroom assignments and projects. Students have documented public sculptures on campus, discovered the history of campus buildings, documented the history of women students at Western, and created departmental histories by using the Archives collections.
Archives' staff can assist faculty, staff, students, alumni, researchers, and others with requests and needs. Please contact us using the Inquiry/Request form with questions, comments, and suggestions.
Search the Northwest Digital Archives for guides to university records and manuscript collections found at WOU. This currently includes only a small portion of our holdings; see Archives for additional help searching.
Collection Information and Links
General Information
The collections include slides and photographs; campus publications such as older college catalogs, student yearbooks, newspapers and handbooks; building and public sculpture information (including information about the training schools); clothing and uniforms worn by students; old commencement programs and diplomas; biographical information about our founders, faculty and presidents; minutes of the Faculty Senate; collections of student poetry; scrapbooks compiled by student clubs and dormitories; football films from the 1950s to the 1980s; and historical information about Monmouth. A special collection of Butler family letters documents pioneer life in Polk County in the 1850s and 1860s. Greater detail is available on the History of Western page.
The 2004-2005 Staff Senate created a project to document public art and memorials on campus.
The Archives are closed to the public, but most materials can be retrieved and reproduced upon request. Contact the Archives Staff for assistance.
Butler Family Letters Home Page
 |
Biographies of WOU Presidents
Brief biographies detailing the lives and accomplishments of the presidents of WOU have been compiled and made available on the WOU presidents page.
Photographs
Photographs and slides illustrate all aspects of student life including athletics, dormitory life, science and art classes, student clubs and organizations, May Day pageants, graduation, and alumni reunions. Individual photographs exist of Western's presidents, founders, and many faculty and staff. Photographs document most buildings and landmarks on campus and reveal the changes to their appearance over time, including the dramatic damage to Campbell Hall and the destruction of the Grove by the famous Columbus Day Storm on October 12, 1962. Older photographs from the 19th century include Monmouth area homes used as boarding houses, the first football team in 1893, and an 1890's faculty and staff climb of Mt. Hood. Monmouth photographers C.C. Lewis and the Davidson Studio took many of the 19th and early 20th century photographs in the Archives collection.
A Subject Index to the Photographic Collection will be available on this Web site in the future.
Reproduction of Photographs
All photographs and slides can be reproduced as prints or slides at the University's
Productions Center. Prints requested and paid for in advance can be sent to you by mail.
Photographs belong to Western University Archives and credit must be given with the phrase "(Photograph Courtesy of Western Oregon University Archives)."
Published photographs from the Archives
Bronner, Simon. Piled Higher and Deeper: The Folklore of Academic Life. Little Rock: August House, 1990.
Huxford, Gary. Since 1856....Historical Views of the College at Monmouth. Monmouth, OR: Western Oregon State College, 1996.
A Pictorial History of the Willamette Valley. In press, 1997.
Rushford, Jerry. Christians on the Oregon Trail: Churches of Christ and Christian Churches in Early Oregon, 1842-1882. Joplin, Mo: College Press, 1997.
Stebbins, Ellis. The OCE Story. Monmouth, OR: Oregon College of Education, 1973.
Campus Art and Memorials
Western Oregon University has a long standing tradition of supporting community and social change. This is evident by the numerous unique pieces of art ranging from creations of an artist to the living treasures along with numerous memorials to keep remembrance alive. These can be found in buildings and as part of our beautiful landscaping, dating from the late 1880s to the present.
This index was originally created by the 2004-2005 Staff Senate has continued as an on-going project to document new public art and memorials. In 2010, this project was passed to the University Archives. If you see a work of art or a memorial that is not documented below or have additional information about one in this list, please contact the University Archives.
| 1856-1865 | MONMOUTH UNIVERSITY | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| Date unknown |
Rev. John E. Murphy |
|
Near the tennis courts and Old Physical Education |
| 1865-1882 | CHRISTIAN COLLEGE | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| None | |||
| 1882-1909 | OREGON STATE NORMAL SCHOOL (OSNS) | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| 1887 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1887 |
Campbell Hall, NE corner of the front lawn |
|
| 1889 |
|
Relocated to the WUC bell tower |
|
| 1902 |
James Monroe Powell |
Gift of the graduating class of 1902, faculty, and other friends |
Humanities and Social Sciences building, south stairwell |
| 1905 |
|
Natural Science building, garden |
|
| 1908 - June |
Gift of the graduating class of 1908 |
Humanities and Social Sciences building, south stairwell |
|
| 1909 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1909 |
WOU Archives storage |
|
| 1911-1939 | OREGON NORMAL SCHOOL (ONS) | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| 1913 - June |
Plaque |
Christian College Class June 1873 |
Campbell Hall, SE tower wall |
| 1913 |
“AD 1913” |
|
Maple Hall, NE corner |
| 1914 |
Gift of the Oregon State Grange |
Todd Hall, east stairway |
|
|
The Vanderpool mill from the Parker District of Polk County |
Near the tennis courts at the corner of the Humanities and Social Sciences building |
||
| 1925 - May 6 |
Oregon Normal School men who enlisted in WW1 |
|
The tennis courts at Old Physical Education |
| 1926 |
Senior Bench (replaced) |
Gift of the Graduating Class of 1926 |
Outside Campbell Hall under The Giant Sequoia |
| 1931 |
Jessica Todd Hall |
|
Todd Hall, to the left of the front doors |
| 1935 - July 14 |
Donated by the descendants of John E. Murphy |
Todd Hall, front lawn |
|
| 1939-1981 | OREGON COLLEGE of EDUCATION (OCE) | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| 1951 |
Director case |
Gift of the graduating class of 1951 |
Campbell Hall |
| 1956 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1956 |
Hamersly Library, stairwell between the second and third floors |
|
| 1961 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1961 |
Werner University Center, in the Den |
|
| 1965 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1965 |
Line the east side of Stadium Drive, |
|
| 1965 - May 2 |
OCE Alumni Association gift |
Humanities and Social Sciences building |
|
| 1972-1976 |
Donations from alumni, friends of the college, students, faculty and college staff and a grant from the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission of Oregon |
New Grove bounded by the dorms to the north, McArthur field to the south, New PE building on the west, and the Werner University Center on the east. |
|
| 1975 |
Carol Pickering |
Unknown who purchased the tree |
Softball field, west of campus |
| 1975 - September |
Iberian Venus sculpture |
Associated Students of Oregon College of Education (ASOCE) |
Center of The Grove |
| 1976 - April 23 |
Debbie Fell and |
Residents of Landers Hall may have sponsored the tree |
Landers Hall lawn, west side |
| 1981-1997 | WESTERN OREGON STATE COLLEGE (WOSC) | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| 1981 - May 1 |
Untitled Cor-ten® Steel sculpture |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program |
APS building (former library) |
| 1982 - July 29 |
|
Rice Auditorium, west lawn |
|
| 1984 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1984 |
Werner University Center, front entrance |
|
| 1984 |
Dr. Robert E. Albritton |
Funded by fellow professors, colleagues, and friends |
College of Education, south lawn panel |
| mid-1980s ? | Graduation trees - we need more information! Can anyone help? Goldenchain Tree (Laburnum x waterei) Noble Fir (Abies proccera) |
|
New Physical Education, east lawn |
| 1985 |
WOSC Graduate |
|
New Physical Education, east lawn |
| 1986 - January 28 |
Sharon Christa McAuliffe |
|
The Cottage, west side |
| 1986 - June 10 |
Mermaid sculpture |
Donated by Dr. Anton Postl, the Western Foundation, the Monmouth-Independence Community Arts Association, and the Oregon Arts Commission |
Natural Sciences building, east garden |
| 1987 |
Dr. Montana Hopkins Rickards Walking Bull Memorial Tree |
|
New Physical Education, east lawn |
| 1988 |
Neal W. Werner |
|
Werner University Center, south wall of the main entrance |
|
Fish Tank - ASWOSC |
Neal Wayne Werner |
Werner University Center |
|
| 1989 - May 31 |
The College Center was dedicated and renamed the Werner College Center in memory of its former director Neal W. Werner | ||
| 1989 - June 4 |
Beijing’s Tiananmen Square |
|
Landers Hall, west lawn |
| 1989 - June 9 |
Selma Leinwand |
|
Rice Auditorium, south lawn |
| 1989 - September 15 |
|
Heritage Hall, left of the main entrance |
|
| 1989 - October |
Twin Cones Artist Jonathan Bonner |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program | Heritage Hall dormitory, west side |
| 1989 |
World Time Clock |
International Students Organization |
Werner University Center, Cubbyhole |
| 1990 - June 9 |
A Symbol of Life |
|
NPE east lawn |
| 1990 |
Gift of the graduating class of 1990 |
Between the College of Education and the Instructional Technology Center |
|
| 1991 |
Professor Edward Fletcher Barrows |
|
Campbell Hall, west lawn |
| 1991 |
|
Moved to Salem 2006 |
|
| 1992 - January 10 |
Research and Educational Exchange ‘Yoshino’ Flowering Cherry |
Saitama University | South of University Park Conference Center, Unit C |
| 1993 - (approx) |
Student April Turner |
|
Humanities and Social Sciences, east plant bed near front entrance |
| 1993 | H. Dale Harp Memorial Bench |
Between Hamersly Library and the College of Education | |
| 1993 - June 9 |
Marci Lynn Pahl |
|
Landers Hall west side |
| 1995 |
Parents Club |
Between Campbell and Maple Halls |
|
| 1996 - June |
Oregon Rivers sculpture Artist Tomas Rudd |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program | Rice Auditorium, west lawn |
| 1996 |
Wade Popoff 1996 Senior Elementary Education |
|
Campus Public Safety |
| 1997 - | WESTERN OREGON UNIVERSITY (WOU) | ||
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| 1997 |
Matt Norman 1997 BS Law Enforcement |
|
Valsetz Dining Hall |
| 1998 |
The Moon was a River stained glass |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program |
Valsetz Dining Hall elevator |
| 1998 - April 4 |
Reece Aaron Ritz |
Contributions by family and friends |
Practice football field, south east corner |
| 1999 |
Voyage to Excellence sculpture |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program |
Werner University Center |
| 2000 |
Professor Edward Bellamy |
|
Hamersly Library, southwest corner |
| 2000 |
Gobelins tapestry Soliloquy |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program |
Hamersly Library, main staircase |
| 2000 | Three Elements sculpture Artist Michihiro Kosuge |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program | Hamersly Library, West Portico |
| 2001 |
Donovan Burbank |
|
The Grove, east walk |
| 2001 |
Kurt E. Singletary |
Dedicated by Valsetz Dining Hall students and co-workers, 2001 |
Valsetz Dining Hall, west side |
| 2006 |
Bench entitled Grove |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program |
Sequoia Commons patio, Arbor Park Apts. |
| 2007 - June 14 |
Twila Kreger Domine Memorial Bench |
Donations by WOU faculty, staff, friends, and family | Rice Auditorium, SW lawn |
| 2007 | Wind Catcher Artist Stuart Jacobson |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program | South side of Alder View Townhouses |
| 2008 | Untitled - Under construction! Artist |
Funding: Oregon's Percent for Art in Public Buildings program | Southwest wall of Todd Hall |
| 2008 - April 16 |
Virginia Tech University Faculty & Students Memorial Tree Kwanzan Flowering Cherry |
Funded through donations from staff and students | Between Landers Residence Hall and Lot J Loop |
| 2008 - October 23 |
Whitney Bellinghausen Memorial Tree Kwanzan Flowering Cherry |
Donations by her WOU campus family and friends | Between Landers Residence Hall and Lot J Loop |
| Date | Artwork or Memorial | Sponsor | Location |
| Date unknown |
Oregon Public Safety Academy Class 209 |
Heritage SE corner |
|
Other sources of information and photographs
Outdoor Sculptures on Campus, an exhibit July-September 2006 at Hamersly Library
Textures of Campus, an exhibit September - December 2005 at Hamersly Library
Remembering the Past: Artifacts from the University Archives, a 2000 Hamersly Library exhibit
Would you like to know more about our campus buildings? Click here. Or here for the Werner University Center.
Read about Oregon's Percent for Art Program
Top | Return to Staff Senate homepage | Return to University Archives
 |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Buildings and Features | |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|
The parenthetical abbreviations after each building name match those used in the online faculty/staff directory. Other Buildings: |
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Western Oregon University has a rich history, which has been significantly shaped by the leaders of the university. Brief biographies of these past presidents and interm presidents have been compiled by archives staff.
|
1865-1869 |
Thomas Franklin (T.F.) Campbell 1869-1882 |
1882-1889 |
1889-1902 |
1902-1909 |
1911-1921 |
1921-1932 |
|
1932-1939 |
1939-1947 |
1947-1950 |
1950-1955 |
1955-1961 |
1961-1962 |
1962-1977 |
|
1977-1982 |
1983-1993 |
1995-2002 |
2002-2005 |
2005-2011 |
Beginning in 1882, and continuing today, Western Oregon University has held the distinction as Oregon’s premier school for teacher education. While this has not changed for one hundred and fifty years, the way in which potential teachers are educated has. Today, students who are admitted into the education program at WOU spend a large percentage of their time observing and student teaching in local area schools.
|
Photograph taken between 1896 and 1897 of the original training school located on the WOU campus. Campbell Hall, with the original bell tower, is located in the background. |
Today, these schools are run by the individual school districts and student teachers are overseen by WOU faculty. However, in the past this was not the case.
Beginning in 1898, and continuing until 1986, Western Oregon University itself ran a number of schools .These“training schools” were ran with essentially three goals in mind, first to give the children residing in the area an education, second to give the students of the college an opportunity to sharpen their teaching skills before heading out and starting their teaching careers, and lastly to help solve the shortage of teachers available in rural areas of Oregon.
These training schools are basically broken down into two categories. One group consists of the schools that are near the WOU campus. These schools would include Monmouth Training School/Campus Elementary and the Independence Training School. The others, which were most often referred to as “Rural Centers” would consist of all the schools that are located outside the Monmouth/Independence area. These would include, Elkins Rural Center, Oak Point Rural Center, Greenwood Rural Center, Eola Rural Center, Mountain View Rural Center, Rickreall Rural Center, the Children’s Farm Home, Valsetz Rural Center, Falls City Rural Center, and Fair Play Rural Center.
|
Independence Elementary and |
Campus Elementary today known as the ITC building. |
Monmouth High School and Elementary (built in 1911 on the northeast corner of Knox and Powell) was used by Western Oregon University as a training school until 1915. At this time, the building presently known as the ITC was erected. The elementary students were moved to the new building known at the time as the Campus Elementary, while the high schools students remained at the older building. In 1950, Monmouth and Independence school districts merged and the high school students were then relocated to Central High School with the grade school students remaining at the Campus Elementary. Independence, which agreed to become a training school in 1917, was dropped in 1957.
|
Elkins Rural Center |
Elkins Rural Center was built in close proximity to a rail line that ran through Airlie and Monmouth. This rural center, which was near the town of Airlie, was added to Western Oregon University in 1912 and was dropped sometime around 1929-1930 when the Southern Pacific Rail Road abandoned the line. It, like many of the rural centers, consisted of a two room school that was run by five student teachers and one “critic teacher” in charge of overseeing the student teachers.
|
Oak Point Rural Center |
Oak Point Rural Center was located north of Independence near the intersection of Greenwood road and the Independence highway. This one room school house was incorporated as a rural center in 1917 and dropped in 1934.
|
No picture of Greenwood Rural Center available at this time.
|
Near Oak point on Greenwood road was the Greenwood Rural Center. This building, like the one at Oak Point, was a single room school house. Greenwood was made a rural center in 1927 and dropped in1936.
|
Eola Rural Center |
Located northeast of Oak Point and Greenwood Rural Centers was the Eola Rural Center. This one room school house was located in the hills just above the Willamette River. The Eola Rural Center was incorporated in 1921 and dropped in 1927.
|
Mountain View Rural Center |
Mountain View Rural Center was located five miles north of Corvallis. This multi- room school house was added in 1918 and dropped in 1927 .
|
Rickreall Rural Center |
The Rickreall Rural Center was located in Rickreall, Oregon. Presently, it is one of two (itself and the ITC building on the WOU campus) rural centers that are still standing and this building is currently used by the Rickreall Grange. At the time of construction it was considered to be a model school building with running water and electricity in every classroom. The Rickreall Rural Center was added as a rural center in 1923 and dropped sometime between 1936 and 1940.
|
The Children's Farm Home |
The Children’s Farm Home was located just north of Corvallis, Oregon. From the available information, one could assume that this was an orphanage for local children, but there is no definitive answer. Like all of the other rural centers, the classrooms were staffed by the students from the Oregon Normal School (currently WOU). In addition to their studies, the children living at the institution were also required to work on the farm as a way to fund the home. The Children’s Farm Home was added around 1924 and was dropped in 1931.
|
Dorms used by Oregon Normal School students at the Valstetz Rural Center |
The Valsetz Rural Center was located in the now extinct town of Valsetz, Oregon. This school, sat fifteen miles west of Falls City, Oregon in the mountains of the coast range. The Valsetz Rural Center was included in 1927 and dropped 1932.
|
Falls City Rural Center |
Falls City Rural Center was added as a rural center in 1925 and later dropped three years later in 1928.
|
Fair Play Rural Center |
Fair Play Rural Center was added between 1925 and 1926 and was later dropped in 1930. Due to a lack of information, little is known about this rural center and currently the location of the school is unknown.
In the end, these training schools and rural centers helped shape the way in which students at WOU receive their education. They established early on that the best way for an aspiring teacher to acquire the skills necessary to manage a classroom, is to gain first hand experience. While most of these buildings are gone, they have left a legacy that will influence the education of students at WOU for many years to come.
Information Compiled by Kris Brunner, 2005.
