Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

.Communication Studies Subject Guide: Citation & Writing Help

Library and Internet resources useful for students and researchers of Communication Studies.

APA Citation Help

The APA Style Aid provides formatting, in-text citation and reference page assistance.

Avoiding Plagiarism--APA

Avoiding Plagiarism Tutorial--with APA Citations

This short tutorial explains what is plagiarism, how to avoid it using the APA style. There is a brief quiz at the end. If you pass it, you can print out a completion form. If you fail it, you will be sent to the begining of the tutorial.

Exporting and Importing from Databases

If you have multiple citations gathered from databases, importing en masse into EasyBib will be faster than adding them individually with the Autocite feature. Learn how to export from various database platforms and to pull them into EasyBib. 

Writing Center

The Writing Center is the only academic support unit on campus specifically designed to promote your development and success as a college writer. The consultant team is available to assist you in person and online with writing projects for any course and any level of instruction. The Writing Center also offers specialized assistance for multimodal compositions or new media projects like digital narratives, blogs, websites, slideware presentations, and even YouTube videos.

Writing Center

Writing Center: APSC 301
Monday-Friday
9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.
in-person and synchronous online sessions

Night Hours: HL 116
Sunday-Thursday
7:00-10:00 p.m.
walk-in sessions only:first come, first served

EasyBib

EasyBib logo

IMPORTANT: The first time you use Easybib EDU, you will need to entere WOU's code. Current students, faculty, and staff can access it here.

If you are logged in to the WOU Portal, you can use the "Log in with Google" button to log in.

EasyBib EDU is an automatic citation & bibliography composer for APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. 

EasyBib is also available from the library home page under Accounts.  Hamersly Library provides the premium access to EasyBib--just sign up for a free account. 

EasyBib--A Brief Introduction

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
Source: Cornell University Library

Writing an Annotated Bibliography
Source: Californinia Polytecnic State University