Book Reviews - Website - Reference Resources - LibGuides at Western Oregon University

Current reviews

Books In Print Contains publication information for approximately two million books listed in Books in Print, Forthcoming Books and titles declared out of print. Those that have reviews have a red star by the title; within the book’s record, clicking on the tab labeled “Title Reviews” will display the full-text of the reviews.
Choice Reviews Online For book reviews published since September 1988. Provides full-text of brief reviews of scholarly books and internet resources first published in Choice magazine.
Academic Search Premier
For book reviews published since 1975. This database covers a wide range of academic subjects. Abstracts and indexing are included for about 8,000 scholarly journals and general interest magazines. Over 4,000 full text journals are included, some back to 1975.
Masterfile Premier
For book reviews published since 1984. This database covers a broad range of general interest topics. Abstracts and indexing are included for nearly 2,800 magazines, journals and newspapers. Also, full text for 1,830 publications, some back to 1990. 5000 Magill Book Reviews are included.
Newspaper Source
For book reviews published since 1995. Selected indexing and full text articles from 150 US and international news sources, including newspapers, news wires, and radio transcripts.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
For book reviews published between 1890 and 1982.
Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective
For book reviews published between 1907 and 1984.

Book Review Digest
A print index that provides citations for book reviews published between 1905 and 1998.
Book Review Index
A print index that provides citations for book reviews published since 1965. There are also several general print periodical indexes with early coverage that may include book reviews before these dates. Please see a reference librarian for assistance.

Book Links
Publishes reviews of books for children and young adults.
Booklist
Publishes brief reviews of books and other materials of interest to academic and public libraries.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Publishes reviews of children's books.
Choice
Publishes brief reviews of books and internet resources of interest to academic and public libraries.
Magill's Literary Annual
Each annual issue provides essay-reviews of 200 outstanding books published in the United States during the previous year.
New York Times Book Review
Publishes reviews of popular and some scholarly books.
New York Review of Books
Publishes reviews of popular and some scholarly books.
Publisher's Weekly
Publishes brief reviews of popular and some scholarly books.
TLS: Times Literary Supplement
Publishes reviews of popular and some scholarly books.
Women's Review of Books
Publishes reviews of popular and some scholarly books, with particular emphasis on women's issues and perspectives.

Amazon.com
Provides reviews of books and other products by ordinary people.
AcqWeb: Book Reviews
An extensive list of Internet sites that feature book reviews.
BookPage.com
A monthly general interest book review magazine. Reviews up to 100 of each month's new releases in fiction, nonfiction, business, children's, spoken word audio, and how-to books.