Skip to main content
Website - Reference Resources
Search this Guide
Website - Reference Resources: Dictionaries
Librarian-selected reference Resources
News & Media Sources
General and ready reference
English Dictionaries & Thesauri via Oxford Reference Online
Quickly search for authoritative definitions of commonly used English words.
English Language Reference via Oxford Reference Online
Provides a variety of references on English grammar, usage, etc.
Oxford English Dictionary
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Good for tracing the history of words and finding definitions for antiquated or obscure words.
Search for definitions of terms in English, including specialized techincal terms. Also provides a thesaurus and computer translation services.
Search a plethora of online dictionaries for definitions and/or translations of terms.
English Language Dictionaries
A listing of print dictionaries in our collection that provide definitions of English words.
Internet Public Library: Dictionaries
Provides an extensive listing of general and specialized English language dictionaries available online.
Bilingual Dictionaries via Oxford Reference Online
Bilingual English and French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish.
Provides machine translation of user-entered phrases and entire web pages.
American Sign Language
A listing of print American Sign Language dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Chinese-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print French-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print German-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Greek-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Japanese-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Latin-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Russian-English dictionaries in our collection.
A listing of print Spanish-English dictionaries in our collection.
Quotations Dictionaries via Oxford Reference Online
Find famous quotations and their sources.
Provides a searchable database of more than 15,000 famous quotes.
Aug 23, 2016 10:43 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.