Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Website - Reference Resources: News & Media Sources

Librarian-selected reference Resources

Databases

Databases

  • Academic Lexis/Nexis
    Provides full-text from more than 350 newspapers and 300 news magazines from the U.S. and around the world, updated daily. Also includes: broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, full-text for the Chronicle of Higher Education and nearly 300 individual college/university papers, reports from news wire services such as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire updated several times per day, and full-text from newpaper and magazine sources in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch.
  • Newspaper Source
    Provides selected full-text for 23 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full-text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full-text for more than 200 U.S. regional newspapers. This database is updated daily.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    Covers journals and other sources that publish research in communication and mass media studies. Offers full text for more than 200 titles and indexes several hundred sources.
  • World News Connection
    International news and governmental statements, translated into English. Items are drawn from sources by intelligence analysts of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), an office within the U.S. federal government. News articles are appended with information regarding the affiliation and editorial stance of the source.
  • General OneFile
    Index and full-text source for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Internet News Sites

Internet news sites & wire services

  • Google News
  • Yahoo! News
  • AFP
    An international news agency with headquarters in Paris, France. Offers news in seven languages: Arabic, English, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish, and Russian.
  • Associated Press
    An international news agency with headquarters in New York, New York.
  • ITAR-TASS (English)
    An international news agency with headquarters in Moscow, Russia. Offers news in English and Russian.
  • Reuters
    An international news agency with headquarters in London, England.

Newspaper Websites: Regional

Broadcast

Broadcast

Regional

Oregon commercial TV stations | Oregon commercial radio stations | Oregon public radio & TV stations

  • KATU (channel 2) ABC - Portland
  • KEZI (channel 9) ABC - Eugene
  • KOIN (channel 6) CBS - Portland
  • KVAL (channel 13) CBS - Eugene
  • KGW (channel 8) NBC - Portland
  • KMTR (channel 16) NBC - Eugene
  • KPTV (channel 12) Fox - Portland
  • KLSR (channel 34) Fox - Eugene
  • Oregon Public Broadcasting (OPB) PBS and NPR - Statewide
  • KLCC (89.7 FM) NPR - Eugene

National (U.S.)

ABC News | CNN | CBS News | Fox News | MSNBC | National Public Radio (NPR) | PBS

 

International (English language)

Aljazeera (English) | Australian Broadcasing Corporation | British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) | Canadian Broadcasing Corporation (CBC)