Website - Reference Resources: General and ready reference

Ready reference sources

Quick facts | Encyclopedias | Phone books | Maps | Web directories

Quick facts

• World Almanac via FirstSearch
  A searchable database that contains more than 32,000 brief entries from Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four different almanacs, including the classic World Almanac and Book of Facts. Covers 1998 to present.
• Infoplease
  Infoplease is a free Internet reference source that combines the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas, and several almanacs containing statistics, facts, and historical records. A single search engine allows you to search all these sources at once, or you can search or browse each source individually.
• CIA World Factbook
  An authoritative source for basic information about every U.S.-recognized country in the world. Produced and maintained by the Central Intelligence Agency.
• The Old Farmer's Almanac online
  The classic source for historical information on weather and climate.
• Area Codes
  Search for area codes for U.S. telephone numbers.
• Zip Codes
  Search for zip codes for U.S. addresses.

Top of page

Encyclopedias

• Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  Updated annually, this database provides more than 25,000 full-text entries on a wide variety of topics.
• Oxford World Encyclopedia via Oxford Reference Online
  Contains over 13,000 concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture.
• Encyclopedia Britannica
  In our print Reference collection.

Top of page

Telephone directories

Local

• DexOnline formerly QwestDex
  Provides a directory of addresses and phone numbers for individuals, businesses, and government agencies in Oregon.
• POLK Finder
  Information on governments, schools, organizations and groups in Polk county
• Oregon University System schools
  Provides links to the campus directories of all schools in the Oregon University System.
• Oregon University System staff
  Provides contact information for member's of the Oregon University System staff housed at the Chancellor's office.
• Orbis Cascade Alliance member libraries
  Provides contact information for all Orbis Cascade Alliance member libraries.
• Phone books in our print Reference collection
  A listing of regional telephone directories shelved in our Reference collection.

United States

• AT&T AnyWho
  Lists businesses and individuals. Toll-free number database.
• InfoSpace
  Lists businesses and individuals. Supports reverse look-up and e-mail searches.
• Switchboard.com
  Lists businesses and individuals.

International

• Infobel World Telephone Directories
  Search for businesses and individuals by country.
• World Time and International Dialing Codes
  Obtain codes and time information needed to complete international calls.

Top of page

Maps

• WOU Campus
  Maps and driving directions for the WOU campus.
• Oregon maps from the Oregon Dept. of Transportation
  Provides a wide variety of Oregon maps, including city, county, and regional maps.
• World Maps via Oxford Reference Online
  Provides full-color locator, physical and political maps for each country.
• Google Maps
  View maps and satellite images for locations in the U.S. and throughout the world.
• MapQuest
  Get maps and driving directions for locations in the U.S.
• Multimap
  Global mapping service including street maps of Europe, North America and Australia.

Top of page

Web resource directories

• Google
  Search and browse for web sites by subject.
• Yahoo!
  Search and browse for web sites by subject.
• Directory of Open Access Journals
  Provides a searchable database of free, full-text, peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly journals available on the web. Search at the journal or article level.

Top of page