Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

ED 635 Action Research Guide: Finding Articles

Find it@WOU

If you don’t see a Full Text or PDF option for retrieving an article, you can select Find it @WOU.

This handout will give you one of five options for getting the article.  

Finding Articles

These databases are a good place to start looking for research on your topic. If you can't get an article listed in a database, e-mail the citation information (article title, author, journal, year) to Robert Monge (monger@wou.edu). 

Education Full Text--Including ERIC
Provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. Includes citations and full text from the ERIC database.

Teacher Reference Center
Covers key education topics, including: Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Educator's Reference Complete
This comprehensive database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The database also includes resources on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.

Professional Development Collection
This is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators covering the most current topics in the field of education.

SAGE Complete A-Z List
Peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Education, Nursing & Public Health, Psychology, Sociology published by SAGE and participating societies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.

Other databases to try:

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycINFO
Indexes and summarizes more than 2 million scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.