Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Honors World History: Chicago Style Citations

For Mr. Thissell's Honors World History class

About This Guide

Introduction

Chicago utilizes two systems of source documentation. The first is a system of notes, either footnotes or endnotes, and a bibliography. The other is an author-date format similar to APA which is also paired with a bibliography. Each citation style has its own unique set of rules and should not be used at the same time.

Click on the links below or use the navigation tabs above to learn more about each system of citation as well as the other aspects of writing within the Chicago style.


Footnotes/Endnotes

Footnotes are added to the bottom of the page in which a source was referenced, and endnotes are placed at the end of your research paper (or chapter). All cited sources will also be listed in the Bibliography/Works-Cited section.

Author-Date References

Author-Date references will appear in-text as the author(s) last names, publication date of the work cited, and page number if needed. Full citation details are then placed in the Bibliography/Works-Cited section.

Bibliography

The Bibliography provides a convenient, alphabetized list of all the sources cited in a text, and is typically required for all types of research publication.

Paper Formatting

The Chicago Manual requires that all papers be formatted according to a standardized style. Important aspects include your title page, the main body, references, tables/figures, and footnote/endnote sections.

Style Handbooks

The Chicago and Turabian manuals provide answers to a variety of difficult citation, and formatting, oriented questions.

Easy Bib

Easy Bib Is an easy to use web-based program that uses fill-in forms that will enable you to quickly put together a  reference page for your citations.

PDF GuideYou may also download this entire guide in PDF format

Writing Center

The Writing Center is the only academic support unit on campus specifically designed to promote your development and success as a college writer. The consultant team is available to assist you in person and online with writing projects for any course and any level of instruction. The Writing Center also offers specialized assistance for multimodal compositions or new media projects like digital narratives, blogs, websites, slideware presentations, and even YouTube videos.

Writing Center

Visit the Writing Center website for current hours. Below are the hours writing tutors are in the library:

Hamersly Library, Room HL 116
Sunday-Thursday
7:00-10:00 p.m.
walk-in sessions only:first come, first served

Library Home Page

Library Home Page

www.wou.edu/library

Contact WOU Library

Information: 503-838-8418

Reference: 503-838-8899

Text message: 503-383-9681

E-mail: libweb@wou.edu