Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Information and Reference Desk: Safety/Emergency

For students and staff of the information/reference desk

Difficult Patrons

Suggestions for dealing with difficult library patrons:

  1. Develop and maintain appropriate personal boundaries at all times, while remaining professional. Be careful of the amount and type of personal information you share with patrons.
     
  2. If a patron is not respecting these boundaries, you may say something like: “I’d like to help you, but this is what I need from you first…” or “I’m not going to have this conversation with you. I’d like it if you would…” Be clear about the expectations you have of the person.
     
  3. If you feel uncomfortable based on interactions with a student/patron, communicate this immediately to your supervisor.
     
  4. Consistent and appropriate messages can be found in the information desk handbook.
     
  5. If at any time you feel as if your safety is compromised, contact Public Safety or 911 as appropriate.
    • Public Safety Emergency: 8-9000
    • Public Safety After Hours: (503) 932-3419
    • “I would like to cancel an appointment with Mr. Murphy”
    • If you call campus public safety and say “I need to cancel an appointment with Mr. Murphy”  it tells the officer that you would like their help with a problem patron, but that you do not feel comfortable talking freely about the situation.

Respect: show consideration for; recognize; acknowledge; value legitimate library needs.

An employee who is respectful listens to what the patron has to say. Respect reflects the value and worth of another person. When respect is lacking, there is an imbalance of power.

Confidentiality: privacy; discretion; carefulness; caution; tact; good judgment.

Employees are expected to act responsibly and sensitively when providing service to or handling the records of patrons.

 

Back to Top

Emergency Response

EMPLOYEE RESPONSE GUIDELINES:

  • EVALUATE –THE CONCERN
  • DETERMINE THE SOURCE
  • SELECT APPROPRIATE RESPONSE
  • NOTIFY LIBRARY MANAGERS

Level of Response:

  • Your personal safety and the safety of anyone using the building is a primary concern.  When in doubt or in danger, exit the building, and then call for assistance using a campus emergency telephone.
  • If possible, identify the source of the concern and make a reasonable attempt to resolve it before calling for assistance.  If the concern is not easily resolved, call for help.
  • Other reasons to call for help
    • Secured areas (outside doors) are unlocked – do not enter, call for help.
    • Failure of basic building operating systems – heating, cooling, electrical, water, elevator or anomalies in other systems or equipment.
    • Damage or potential for damage to the building or furnishings
    • Spills or other hazards.
       

PROBLEM RESOLUTION DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS
(
M – F,   8 AM – 5 PM)

If you identify any concern which may affect personal safety, the condition of the building, or impact the Library’s ability to provide usual levels of service, you are authorized to report that concern to the following WOU personnel 

  • Library Administrative Services Unit Staff                    ext. 8-8240 
    • If the Administrative Services Unit staff are not available, contact:
  • WOU Public Safety Dispatcher                    
    • Information                                                               ext. 8-8481
    • Emergency                                                               ext. 8-9000
      • Indicate if this concern needs immediate resolution, or ask them to send someone to evaluate the situation; provide your name and exact location of the problem in this building.
  • WOU Facilities Receptionist                                          ext. 8-8239
    • Clearly state the problem, indicate exact location of the problem in this building, and whether or not the problem requires immediate response

       

PROBLEM RESOLUTION AT CLOSING OR AFTER HOURS:

If you identify any concern which may affect the condition of the building, or impact the Library’s ability to provide usual levels of service the following day or for events scheduled after the library closes, you are authorized to report that concern to the following WOU personnel: 

  • WOU Public Safety Dispatcher                     
    • Information                                                             ext. 8-8481
    • Emergency                                                             ext. 8-9000
      • Indicate if this concern needs immediate resolution, or ask them to send someone to evaluate the situation.
    • Physical Plant Audix message                            ext. 8-8239
      • Leave a message for the Physical Plant receptionist if the problem needs to be addressed at the start of business the following day.  When in doubt, contact WOU Public Safety Dispatcher instead of the Physical Plant
    • Library Administrative Services Unit                  ext. 8-8240
      • Notify the Library Administrative Services Unit when you report a concern.  Indicate which WOU office you reported to, the nature of the concern, and any response to the report before the time you notified Administrative Services.

  • Provide appropriate tools for solving or resolving inconsistencies and anomalies in building operation, hazardous conditions, potential breaches of building security, or conditions or events which threaten personal safety.

Back to Top

Emergency Evacuation Points

Emergency Evacuation Points

 

In the even of a building evacuation, once outside the building there are two meeting places to gather until the Emergency Personnel declare the building safe for reoccupation.  These are:

  • to the southeast on the other side of the parking lot
  • to the west across Monmouth Avenue in front of Maaske Hall. 

Do not gather in the east parking lot nor in the center median to the west as emergency vehicles may need to use this as work space.

 


Back to top

 

 

 

 

Emergency Evacuation

BUILDING EVACUATION – Monday – Friday, 7:30 am – 5:00 pm

 

GENERAL PRINCIPLES:

  1. Library staff and student employees will assist in clearing the building and exit promptly.
  1. In the event of extreme danger, staff is advised to exit the building without attempting to clear each floor.
  1. University Public Safety and local emergency personnel have the primary responsibility for ensuring that the library building is empty in an emergency.
  1. All library staff and student employees will follow instructions given by University Public Safety and local emergency personnel.
  1. All staff members and student employees will be advised of routes to follow when clearing each floor of the building.
  1. Evacuation Plans have been established for regular work days (Mon – Fri), and weekends, nights, and holidays.

Exceptions: those staff members who have physical limitations. They are expected to exit the building and report to the designated assembly location.

 

LMS staff and student employees on duty at the time of the emergency will help evacuate the library by checking each floor. 

  • Announce the emergency to library patrons
    • “The fire alarm has been activated.  You must exit the building now.
    • Please take your valuables, leave books and library materials. “
  • Direct them to the emergency stairs, areas of rescue assistance, and exits
  • Exit the building
  • Go to the designated assembly location outside the building
  • Report anyone waiting for emergency assistance to the staff member on duty at the assembly location
  • Remain at the assembly location until University Safety staff release the building

 

EVACUATION ROUTES - MONDAY – FRIDAY, 7:30 am – 5:00 pm

 

Main Lobby                     Public Desk Staff (route 1)

  • Clear patrons from reference, information, and lobby areas
  • Announce emergency at restroom door
  • Inquire in stairwell for persons needing rescue assistance
  • Exit through the east emergency doors
  • Remain outside near the east entry to prevent individuals from re-entering the building
  • Report any persons requiring rescue assistance to safety personnel

1st floor – East                           Public Desk Staff (route 3)

  • Clear east reference computer area
  • Visually clear HL 116 as you walk north
  • Clear main aisle toward periodicals (north)
  • Clear current periodicals area (north window wall)
  • Clear HL 117
  • Exit through Hl 118, Loading dock exit
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance
 

1st floor  - Classrooms              Public Desk Staff (route 2)

  • Clear the computer classroom room 108
  • Clear the lecture classroom room 107
  • Clear the extended study student lounge room 106
  • Exit through the west vestibule exit
  • Remain outside near the west entry to prevent individuals from re-entering the building
  • Report any persons requiring rescue assistance to safety personnel

1st floor  - West               Public Desk Staff (route 4)

  • Clear the reserves work room, HL 105 and copy center HL103
  • Clear the seating and study areas along the west side of the building
  • Exit via north stairwell
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

 

2nd floor – Staff and Conference rooms  Collection Management or Tech Services Staff (route 5)

  • Clear hallways near staff office
  • Clear lobby, conference rooms, HL 205 & HL 210
  • Announce emergency at restroom doors 
  • Exit via the east stairs, take note of anyone requiring rescue assistance on third and second levels
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the east designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

2nd floor East                Collection Management or Tech Services Staff (route 6)

  • Clear each seating and study area as you walk north along the east window wall   
  • Clear the audio visual collection
  • Clear juveniles collection (north window wall)
  • Exit via north stairwell, take note of anyone requiring rescue assistance on third and second levels
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

2nd floor – West      Collection Management or Tech Services Staff (route 7)

  • Clear center aisle making sure that each row of stacks is clear
  • Clear seating and study areas along the west window wall
  • Clear computer alcove
  • Exit via the west emergency stairs, take note of anyone requiring rescue assistance on third and second levels
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

 

3rd floor – East                Archives & Exhibits Staff (route 8)

  • Clear main stairs and direct people to the emergency exits on the west and east sides of the building
  • Check for persons needing assistance on the east emergency stairs landing
  • Announce emergency at restroom doors 
  • Check the center aisle seating area (south)
  • Clear the study and seating areas along east window wall
  • Exit via the north emergency stairs, take note of anyone requiring rescue assistance
  • Contact the staff member in charge at  the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

3rd floor – West      Administrative Services Staff (route 9)

  • Clear gallery and archives areas
  • Check the west emergency landing for any persons requiring rescue assistance 
  • Clear the study and seating areas along the west window wall
  • Check the center aisle seating area (north)
  • Exit via the north emergency stairs, take note of anyone requiring rescue assistance
  • Contact the staff member in charge at the west designated assembly area to report any concerns or individuals waiting for rescue assistance

 

  

Back to top

Emergency Evacuation Evening / Weekend

BUILDING EVACUATION – Weekend, Night And Holiday Hours

GENERAL PRINCIPLES

  1. Library staff and student employees will assist in clearing the building and exit promptly.
  1. In the event of extreme danger, staff is advised to exit the building without attempting to clear each floor.
  1. University Public Safety and local emergency personnel have the primary responsibility for ensuring that the library building is empty in an emergency.
  1. All library staff and student employees will follow instructions given by University Public Safety and local emergency personnel.
  1. All staff members and student employees will be advised of routes to follow when clearing each floor of the building.
  1. Evacuation Plans have been established for regular work days (Mon – Fri), and weekends, nights, and holidays.

Exceptions: those staff members who have physical limitations. They are expected to exit the building and report to the designated assembly location.

 

After business hours, Monday through Friday, during the weekend or during holiday hours, library employees on duty at the time of the emergency will help evacuate the library by checking each floor. 

  • Announce the emergency to library patrons
    • “The fire alarm has been activated.  You must exit the building now.
    • Please take your valuables, leave books and library materials. “
  • Direct them to the emergency stairs, areas of rescue assistance, and exits
  • Exit the building
  • Go to the designated assembly location outside the building
  • Report anyone waiting for emergency assistance to the staff member on duty at the assembly location
  • Remain at the assembly location until University Safety staff release the building
  •  

INSTRUCTIONS:

NOTE:  Assuming that locked areas of the building will not be occupied during weekend, night and holiday hours, those areas are not included in these routes. 

 

ASSIGNMENTS DURING WEEKEND, NIGHT, AND HOLIDAY HOURS:

Route 1. 1st Floor:                               Public Services Reference Desk staff on duty

Route 2. 2nd Floor:                              Public Services Information Desk staff on duty

Route 3. 3rd Floor:                               Public Services Check-out Desk staff on duty

 

 

Route 1: 1st Floor

  • Clear patrons from reference, and info desk areas, and main lobby area.
  • Check the restrooms and the east emergency stair well and landings; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance. 
  • Sweep behind the info desk and the East computer areas, Clear patrons from the seating and reference areas
  • Sweep down the center aisle toward the North side of the library.
  • Check the recreation and periodicals sections
  • Sweep study rooms, HL 120 and HL 121, then HL 122 and HL 123.
  • Check the north stair landing; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance
  • Walk south, checking each seating and study alcove
  • Sweep the study rooms HL 101 and HL 102
  • Sweep the copy center, HL 103.
  • From the lobby, check the work room behind the Checkout Desk, HL 105.
  • Sweep the classrooms, HL 108 and HL 107.
  • Sweep the student lounge, HL 106, and the west entry vestibule.
  • Wait for the lobby to be clear of patrons, staff or student workers, then exit the building.
  • Remain at the west exit doors to keep people from re-entering the building before safety personnel arrive.
  • Report to University Public Safety and local emergency personnel if there are any people requiring rescue assistance and their locations
  • Note any other concerns for emergency personnel.

 

Route 2: 2nd floor (Whole Floor)

  • From the main staircase
  • Sweep conference room HL 205 and the public area outside HL 205.
  • Check the study rooms HL 204, HL 203, HL 202, HL 201 and 2nd floor alcove. 
  • Walk the east side of the library, checking seating and study areas
  • Check study rooms HL 226, HL 227, HL 225 and HL 224.
  • Check the east emergency stair landing; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance.
  • Check study rooms HL 220, HL 221, HL 222. 
  • Walk east side of 2nd floor checking seating and study areas
  • Sweep conference room HL 210, then the restrooms
  • Walk to the east emergency stair landing; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance and descend the east stairs to the first floor.
  • Remain at the east exit until safety personnel arrive to prevent people from re-entering the building.
  • Note any other concerns for emergency personnel.

 

Route 3: 3rd floor (Whole Floor)

  • From the main staircase, sweep the special collections and archives HL 301-A
  • Sweep the exhibit seating areas.
  • Check room HL 305
  • Check the restrooms and the east emergency stairway landing; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance.
  •  Walk the center aisle checking study and seating areas are clear of patrons. 
  • Sweep the northeast window seating area.
  • Check the north stair landing; take note of any people requiring rescue assistance and descend the north stairs to the first floor.
  • Remain at the north exit until safety personnel arrive to prevent people from reentering the building.
  • Note any other concerns for emergency personnel.

 

 

 

Back to top

Fire and Life Safety Evacuation Plan for Persons with Disabilities

Fire and Life Safety Evacuation Plan for Persons with Disabilities

  1. A. Emergency plans have been posted at each floor which include the locations of a point of refuge for each floor above grade, fire extinguishers, manual fire alarm pull stations, primary and secondary egress routes, and fire alarm control panel.
  2.  A site plan with designated exterior assembly areas for each evacuation route is shown above.
  3.  All alarms including smoke detectors, pull stations, duct detectors, and water flow detectors, report to the Campus Public Safety Office located in Watson House.
  4.  When an alarm is received at the Public Safety Office, an officer will be dispatched to investigate the cause of the alarm. If there is an actual emergency, the officer will request the campus dispatcher to call the Polk County Fire District #1 for assistance. The officer will then search each point of refuge located at each exit enclosure on each floor and will assist anyone requiring help.
  5.  The Library will assign staff to search each room of the building to check for any remaining occupants and to assist any persons requiring assistance to a point of refuge.
  6.  The Public Safety Officer will confirm that all persons requiring assistance have been evacuated from the building and then report to the first fire department personnel on the scene.

 

 

Back to Top

Fire Extinguishers / Alarms

Fire Extinguisher & Alarm Locations

Emergency Exits

Emergency Exit Locations

 

Emergency Response Buckets

Immediate Response Buckets

These buckets are to respond to damaging events in the library that need immediate attention.  The buckets are bright red with a yellow inventory label on the lid.  The supplies (see list below) in each bucket are used to respond to leaks, power outages, etc

Four (4) response buckets are located throughout the building; Hl 119, HL 215, HL 208 & HL 306

 

 

The following supplies are kept in each bucket:

4 - plastic drop clothes

  • 1 - box of 10 count box - large plastic trash bag with ties
  • 1 - large sponge
  • 1 - box disposable non-latex gloves - large
  • 1 - roll caution tape / Safety Tape
  • 1 - roll paper towels
  • 1 - rolls blue painters tape
  • 3 - dust masks
  • 1 – wind up flashlight
  • 2 - permanent markers
  • 1 - lined pad of paper
  • 1 – absorbent dam (in the 209 bucket only)
  • 1 – disaster wheel information (in the 209 bucket only)
  • 2 – emergency blankets

NOTE:  If there is need to use any of the supplies in a bucket, notify Administrative Services to replace what is used.

Administrative Services Student Workers inventory the supplies in the buckets annually to be sure supplies are ready and available for immediate use when needed.

Digital cameras for documenting damage are located at the Checkout Desk, Administrative services and Exhibits & Archives.

 

Earthquake Policy

Earthquake Policy

Emergency Response

(Actions to be taken during the earthquake)

 These actions should be taken when you first feel an earthquake. The shaking will generally last less than a minute, however, there is time to take cover and protect yourself.

  • If indoors, stay there. Get under desk, solid table or stand in doorway.
  • Stay clear of all types of windows (both indoors and outdoors).
  • If in a crowded classroom, office or other public place, do not rush for the door. Move away from tall shelving and unsecured bookcases.
  • If driving a car, pull to the side of the road and stop. Avoid power lines. Stay inside until the shaking stops, do not park alongside a wall or building.
  • If outdoors, get into an open area away from trees, buildings, or walls and power lines. Be careful of falling debris from buildings, especially glass from windows.

Recovery

(Actions to take after the shaking stops)

Within the first few minutes and most likely the first few hours of a serious earthquake, emergency services will not be available. Most areas will have to be self sufficient and steps should be taken to save lives and prevent further disaster. These examples include:

  • Stay calm and try to help others
  • Check for injuries. If trained, apply first aid. Do not remove seriously injured persons unless they are in immediate danger.
  • Check for gas and water leaks and broken electrical wiring. If there is damage, turn the utility off at the source.
  • Check out the condition of the closest exit in case evacuation is needed.
  • Be aware of other hazards, such as fire, building damage and toxic spills.
  • Limit the use of the telephone except for emergencies.
  • If you have a radio, turn it one and listen for instructions.
  • Do not use your vehicle unless there is an emergency. Keep the streets clear for emergency vehicles.
  • Be prepared for after shocks…

 

Many people will not want to stay inside a building after an earthquake. This is not uncommon. You should be careful when exiting a building after the shaking stops.

  • Be careful of falling debris from the building, especially glass form windows.
  • Be careful not to step on fallen power lines. This is very hazardous at night since there may not be any lighting to guide you.
  • When moving about while outside, stay clear of buildings or other structures which may produce falling debris and move to a clear area such a playing field or parking lot.

Remember to stay calm and assist others. Don’t panic. In the beginning everyone will have to help one another until emergency assistance can arrive.

 

Back to Top

 

Policy on Providing Assistance to Students/Patrons with Medical Issues

Policy on Providing Assistance to Students/Patrons with Medical Issues

  1. Policy
    Library staff will maintain appropriate, formal, professional relationships and patterns of behavior with students, patrons, and LMS student employees wo indicate that they are experiencing ongoing or temporary medical conditions.
     
  2. Outcomes
    Library staff will respond promptly to requests for medical assistance by students, patrons, or LMS student employees by contacting the University Campus Public Safety Office. Students/patrons or LMS student employees will receive best available and prompt meidcal care in the event of medical distress or emergency from those personnel and/or will be transported by them to a medical facility. Students/patrons or LMS student employees will be able to count on being personally safe when occupying or using LMS facilities.
     
  3. Background
    Students/patrons or LMS studne employees may have medical concerns which are brough to the LMSs taff's attention with the expectation that this information will prepare our staff to appropriately handle medical emergencies if they arise. This expectation is not realistic since it is inappropriate to expect untrained staff to respond appropriately in medical emergencies. It also places the LMS staff at risk for being held liable in the the event that assistance was provided which resulted in additional medical complications, injury, incorrect assistance or inappropriate action.
     
  4. Procedures
    • If a student/patron or LMS student employee notifies LMS staff that they are experiencing medical distress or a medical emergency, the staff will always contact Campus Public Safety at 8-9000 while having a second staff person call 911.
    • The LMS staff is not authorized to provide any medical assistance nor do they have the professional training to diagnose conditions, ask questions aboutmedical or psychological issues, or understand health situations.
    • The LMS staff is not authorized to provide food, beverages, or medication to students.patrons or student employees during a medical crisis or emergency. The LMS staff does not have the training, authority, or right to decide upon courses of action or solutions for individuals with medical concerns.
    • The LMS staff will maintain the student's, patron's, or LMS student employee's right to confidentiality and personal privacy.
    • Staff will avoid assuming a nurturing, surrogate parenting, or care-giving role to any student, patron, or LMS student employee.
    • Although some LMS staff may have first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), or other advanced first aid training, they are not expected to use that training in the normal course of business unless the situation requires immediate CPR intervention until relieved by Campus Public Safety or Emergency Medical Staff.
    • Even though an individual may resist offers of assistance, LMS staff should not deviate from this policy either in beehavior or in the decision-making process of whether or not to contact professionals.
       
  5. Authority
    • Library and Media Services Dean
    • University Campus Public Safety Director

 

Back to Top

 

Alarm System on the Door between HL 107 and 106

Alarm System on the Door between HL 107 and 106

Where:           

Door between room 107 and the student lounge room 106

What:

  • Two alarms
    • Crash-bar alarm on the door itself in room 107
    • Alarm sounds from the door and will be heard in that general area, but does not ring anywhere else (e.g., does not ring public safety).
    • Arm as you would any of the interior fire doors, using the interior master key.
  • Wall alarm to the right of the door in the student lounge room 106
    • Alarm sounds at the door, but does not ring anywhere else.
    • Controlled by a plate on the wall in 106 (student lounge) to the right of the pass-through door between 107 and 106.  It has a green light for "off" and a red light for "armed."  It is controlled by the Library's interior master key.

Policy:

Keep both alarms armed and keep the door locked from the student lounge side so people cannot enter room 107 from the student lounge.  The door will only be unlocked when authorized for special events and activities.

Procedure:

  1. When alarm sounds, take the interior master key with you and investigate why it has gone off.
  2.  If need be, query the person who went through the door.  
  3. If the person has not removed Library material without checking it out, the staff member or student employee will caution the person that it is not an exit door except in an emergency.  
  4. If the person has Library materials that are not checked out, the staff member/student employee will ask the person to go back to the Checkout Desk to check out the item or return it for re-shelving.
  5.  Depending upon the circumstances, it may be necessary to get the person’s name, especially if deliberate theft is suspected.
  6. If the person is attempting to remove library equipment notify Public Safety.  
  7. As soon as the staff member/student employee gets to room 106/107 and investigates, they should use the interior master key to turn off the alarm on the crash bar on the 107 side.  They may need to ask the person to wait until the alarms are deactivated/reactivated.
  8. In the rare case of a person actually taking equipment the student employee should notice such when looking into 106 and should immediately notify permanent staff or pick up the nearest phone and call public safety.  This is unlikely, but could possibly be an unsafe situation for the student employee.

 

 

Back to Top