Welcome to the He 471 Annotated Bibliography Assignment research guide. This guide is designed to help you Find Peer Review Articles, Grey Literature, and Use APA format. Below are helpful databases and websites. Each resource will open in a new tab. There are a series of pop-up videos to help you search for resources and links to APA citations guides.
Please let me know if have any questions with your research. I am here to help. Available for Zoom Meetings.
FINDING ARTICLES
Here is are a list of recommended article databases for finding peer reviewed articles for your annotated bibliography. If something isn't available full text, you can use the Find it@WOU for various options in getting the article.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - Health Education Database
Medline (EBSCO) - Health Education Database
SPORTDiscus - Health Education Database
HOW-TO: Search Health Source, Medline, SportDiscus (6:21)
Google Scholar Research including journal articles and other scholarly material
HOW-TO: Search Google Scholar (5:59)
SAGE Complete A-Z List Articles from multiple subjects
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Articles covering multiple subjects
HOW-TO: JSTOR Arts & Sciences (1:56)
FINDING GREY LITERATURE
Grey Literature in professional and government research that hasn't been published in a journal but is valuable and reliable information used in the field. It consists of reports, findings, and papers.
Google using some advance search options is a good place to find professional/government sources.
Sites to Explore
Centers for Disease Control CDC
County Health Ranking and Road Maps
Searching CDC, NIH, and County Health Ranking and Road Maps
APA FORMAT
Here are two tools to help you with your APA formatting.
The APA Style aid has in-text/reference citation guidance and sample paper formats.
Noodle Tools is a free (for WOU Students) cloud based citation software that will format your APA citations and reference page.
