It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS 207: The Opiate Crisis: Medical and Societal Effects of Opiate Use and Addiction: Home
Finding Books, E-books, and Other Materials
WOU is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of items from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support the information needs of patients and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Povides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures. ChemIDplus Lite is available for Name and RN searching without the need for plugins or applets.
A free, public online source provided by the National Library of Medicine. MedlinePlus offers health information in non-technical, understandable language. You do not need to be a health professional to use it productively, although it is used by many health providers.
MedlinePlus contains carefully selected links to online health information resources. In addition, links to pre-formulated searches of the MEDLINE database via PubMed allow you to find references to the most recent articles on a topic. MedlinePlus also contains two drugs, supplements, and herbs information resources: AFHS Consumer Medication Information and Natural Standard.
The Drug Information Portal is a free Web resource from the NLM that provides an informative, user friendly entry-way to current drug information for over 16,000 drugs. Links to sources span the breadth of NLM, the National Institutes of Health®, and other government agencies. Current information regarding consumer health, clinical trials, AIDS-related drug information, MeSH pharmacological actions, PubMed biomedical literature, and physical properties and structure is easily retrieved by searching for a drug name. A varied selection of focused topics in medicine and drug-related information is also available from displayed subject headings
PubMed is the primary database for researchers in the fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, and related life sciences. It comprises over 20 million references to articles published in more than 5,200 current biomedical journals from the United States and over 80 foreign countries.
The domain (i.e. .com) can tell you a lot about a website. Sites can be .com (commercial), .edu (academic institutions), .gov (governmental), .mil (military), or .org (organization - usually non-commercial). Of these, .edu and .gov sites are the most trustworthy.