Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books, E-books, and Other Materials
WOU is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of items from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!
Start your search on the library homepage:
Ebooks can be read on any computer. Learn more about ebooks here.
You can also visit Summit libraries in person: Summit Libraries and locations
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature in a simple, familiar way. You can search across many disciplines and sources at once to find articles, books, theses, court opinions, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. See the Google Scholar inclusion guidelines for more about what’s in Google Scholar
Advanced Search Tips
For more precise searching, use Google's Advanced Scholar Search Page, or try these tips:
Find content by an author:
- Add the author's name to the search, or
- Use the "author:" operator (eg. aphasia author:jones finds articles about aphasia written by people named Jones)
Search for a phrase:
Search by words in the title:
- Use the "intitle:" operator (eg. intitle:fellini finds articles with Fellini in the title]
Don't pay for content!
The library offers a lot of ways to get the content you need. You should never have to pay for it!
- An easy tip: paste the name of this book/article/video you need into the big box on the library homepage!
- In Google Scholar, you can set up Library Links to help you easily "Find it @ WOU":
Primary, Secondary, and tertiary sources
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Compiled by the U.S. National Agricultural Library (NAL), this database indexes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects such as agricultural trade and m
Biological Science Database
Indexes and provides abstracts for more than 6000 science journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and books. A wide variety of biological subjects are covered: ecology, marine biology, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, toxicology, botany and zoology, plus medical, health and pharmaceutical topics.