Welcome to the LIT 382: Cultural Trauma and Memory Research Guide. This guide will help you find scholarly books and articles to use for your annotated bibliography. This tab will get you started with finding books using the main library search, and finding articles using MLA International Bibliography and Humanities Abstracts, JSTOR, and Google Scholar. Each section below has a "how-to" video to help you with your searching.
The other tabs along the top go into more detail on the different types of information available to you and the role each should play in your upper-level literature assignments, as well as some tips and tricks for advanced researching.
If you have any questions or need help, please feel free to contact me, your Humanities librarian:
1 (503) 838-8657
Available for one-on-one Zoom meetings! Email to schedule.
Finding Books and eBooks at WOU
Search our library catalog (Primo) to find books. Even if you can't make into the library physically, you can still access both e-books and print books. All print books will have scan and deliver options to have chapters e-mailed to you as a PDF, or you can request pick-up or mail delivery.
MLA International Bibliography and Humanities Abstracts
MLA International Bibliography covers more than 4,000 journals and books covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences covers more than 1,300 scholarly journals across all disciplines, some of which date from the 19th century.
Google Scholar This advanced Google search interface enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material. Just make sure to click the "Find It @ WOU" links to access articles through the library--you should never pay extra $$ for an article!