Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books, E-books, and Other Materials
WOU is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of items from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!
Start your search on the library homepage:
Ebooks can be read on any computer. Learn more about ebooks here.
You can also visit Summit libraries in person: Summit Libraries and locations
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Explore case studies, academic journals, and news related to the environment, energy, and natural resources.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.
Using the library links ensures that you don't have to pay for articles. Just use the "Find it @ WOU" link located to the right of or below the article (you need to use the expand arrows to see it when it is below the article).
Biological Science Database
Indexes and provides abstracts for more than 6000 science journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and books. A wide variety of biological subjects are covered: ecology, marine biology, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, toxicology, botany and zoology, plus medical, health and pharmaceutical topics.
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature in a simple, familiar way. You can search across many disciplines and sources at once to find articles, books, theses, court opinions, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. See the Google Scholar inclusion guidelines for more about what’s in Google Scholar
Advanced Search Tips
For more precise searching, use Google's Advanced Scholar Search Page, or try these tips:
Find content by an author:
- Add the author's name to the search, or
- Use the "author:" operator (eg. aphasia author:jones finds articles about aphasia written by people named Jones)
Search for a phrase:
Search by words in the title:
- Use the "intitle:" operator (eg. intitle:fellini finds articles with Fellini in the title]
Types of sources
- As research is created and disseminated, it moves from being a primary source → → toward being → → a tertiary source.
- The earlier in the process (and closer to the actual science being done) the more likely you are dealing with a primary sources.
- When you start to research a topic (before you do any science), you go the opposite direction ← ←. You may start with a tertiary source, like Wikipedia or library database and move toward the original work or primary research.