Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books, E-books, and Other Materials
WOU is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of items from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!
Start your search on the library homepage:
Ebooks can be read on any computer. Learn more about ebooks here.
You can also visit Summit libraries in person: Summit Libraries and locations
Below are some additional databases you may want to use to conduct your research. Just like in Primo, search using your brainstormed keywords. Most of what is available in these databases will show up in your Primo searches, but since these databases are smaller and subject-specific you will get fewer results and therefore might find them easier to manage.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides intelligent, thoughtfully worded discussion centering on the key issues of our time, such as genetic engineering, environmental policy, prejudice, abortion, health care reform, and media violence.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to reports that examine contemporary social and political issues. Compiled by staff at Congressional Quarterly, Inc., an independent research firm, each report includes more than 12,000 words and an extensive bibliography on a single topic. Covers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides full-text access to articles published in 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals. Also includes citations and abstracts for more than 100 additional journals. Focuses on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police issues, and courtroom procedures.
Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and summarizes more than 2 million scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.