It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A four-step guide for students (and faculty), written by Ann McNeal, School of Natural Science, Hampshire College, Amherst MA.
Even if you have decided on a topic to write about, finding
information about it can be tough! This is at least in part due to the fact
that there can be many different terms used to describe an idea. The tutorial
below gives some useful pointers on how to find search terms that will work for
Look for a section labeled "References" or "Citation Style."
Use the following to locate schoalrly articles on your topic. Each has strenghts and weaknesses and searching is a little different in each one. Biological Sciences is likely the strongest in plant ecology, though you may be surprised by what Google Scholar can offer.
Indexes and provides abstracts for more than 6000 science journals, conference proceedings, technical reports and books. A wide variety of biological subjects are covered: ecology, marine biology, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, toxicology, botany and zoology, plus medical, health and pharmaceutical topics.
Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including papers, theses, books, and reports. Google Scholar is strongest in science, medicine, and technology, but has content in all disciplines. Tips and tricks for using Google Scholar
Compiled by the U.S. National Agricultural Library (NAL), this database indexes journal articles, books, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
GreenFILE, is a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Contains full-text articles from over 1700 journals published by Elsevier (a premier science publisher.) Although the content is multi-disciplinary, the primary focus is science, engineering and medicine. WOU's access is primarily "on-demand" so we ask that you are considerate in your use of the full text of articles from this database.