Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Times
Free electronic full text 1851-1922 and 1980-present. Articles 1923-1980 are available electronically for purchase, but I suggest just obtaining the citation (date & page) and using the microfilm copy of the NYT we have in the library.
Historical access to newspapers will vary a lot depending on which newspaper and how deep into history you are delving. You will encounter free content on the open web and through library databases, opportunities to purchase content on the open web, citations and abstracts only on the open web and through databases, or a newspaper with limited or no indexing.
If you obtain a citation for a newspaper article but need the full text, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.
Citations with the first few lines serving as summary, back to 1852. Use the citation to order article through Interlibrary Loan.
Oregonian Newspaper Index 1851-1987
Provides citations for selected articles that appeared in the Oregonian newspaper between December 1851 and 1987. The articles are not electronic full text; use the citations you find here to get the article from Oregonian microfilm available in the library.
Oregonian Newspaper 1987-present
Full text articles from the newspaper beginning July 12, 1987 and to the present.
Historic Oregon Newspapers
Search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).