LibGuides: .Chican@ Studies Subject Guide: Recommended Databases

Librarians' Top Picks

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology.

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 This link opens in a new window
Books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and other historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the United States from the ratification of the Constitution in 1789 to the Great Depression.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics compiled from over 1,000 sources. Quantitative data on demography, economics, government, finance, sociology, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. Besides searching the existing tables of data, users can create and download customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West
This link will take you to the entry for "Mexican Migration to California" in the encyclopedia, but you can use the advanced search to find other entries in the book.

Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies and obituaries of notable individuals, drawn from many highly respected reference sources. Search by name OR find people meeting characteristics such as profession or title, ethnicity or nationality, gender, birth or death dates--for example, Mexican activists, or female Hispanic writers.
American FactFinder This link opens in a new window
Data from the U.S. Census Bureau that you can combine and download to suit your needs: populations & demographics, economic, businesses and industries, housing and communities.