Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians' Top Picks
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journals, book series and dissertations covering rhetoric and composition, language and linguistics, as well as literature and folklore and the teaching of these subjects. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides research in all aspects of communication studies, including rhetoric, discourse, and composition.
National Council of Teachers of English Journals
Provides access to tables of content and some full text for selected journals published by the National Council of Teachers of English. If you encounter difficulties accessing full-text, use the Ask a Librarian service to obtain assistance.
Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Other Databases to Try
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.
Using the library links ensures that you don't have to pay for articles. Just use the "Find it @ WOU" link located to the right of or below the article (you need to use the expand arrows to see it when it is below the article).
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Indexes and provides abstracts from books and journals covering philosophy and related fields. Topics covered include ethics, aesthetics, logic, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysics as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Reader's Guide Full-Text Mega
Virtually every aspect of modern life is covered in Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega, which features indexing for 460 periodicals from 1983 to the present, as well as full-text articles from more than 260 journals dating 1994 to the present. Articles provide access to illustrations, photographs and other original graphical data. Content is also constantly being added, as the database is updated on a daily basis to incorporate the latest information.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
A suite of full-text reference sources from the outstanding Oxford University Press. The collection of English language reference includes style and usage guides, dictionaries of idiom, proverbs, slang, and word origins. Reference works on many subjects can serve as resources for writing content as well.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The authoritative source on the origins of English words and their shifts in meanings and pronunciations over time. It illustrates a word's usage through dated quotation evidence taken from a wide range of literature and other print sources.
Need help? Ask your librarian!
Contact WOU Library
Text message: 503-383-9681