Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes more than 4000 journals, book series and dissertations covering literature, languages, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Fuente Académica offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
Informe Revistas en Espanol
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.
Indexes and abstracts approximately 2300 journals dealing with the history the world since 1450, excludes Canada and the United States.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Columbia International Affairs Online Journals
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) covers theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. In addition, its atlas feature provides basic country data, detailed maps, and economic and political reports and analysis conducted by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the research arm of group that publishes The Economist magazine.
Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Databases for Primary Sources
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and other historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the United States from the ratification of the Constitution in 1789 to the Great Depression.
"Noticias de última hora sobre la actualidad en España y el mundo: política, economía, deportes, cultura, sociedad, tecnología, gente, opinión, viajes, moda, ..."
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Provides full-text for more than 100 dictionaries and other reference books, including English, French, Spanish, German, and Italian dictionaries. Also, thesauri, quotations, and reference sources in many subject areas, including the Arts, Business, History, Literature, Politics, Religion, and the Sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides online access to the full-text of 25 major reference books in various academic disciplines. Gale also provides a few titles in an alternate interface, The Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society, Encyclopedia of Religion, andWest's Encyclopedia of American Law.
A to Z the world
An international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
Biography Reference Center
This database contains more than 450,000 full-text biographies and obituaries, and more than 32,000 photographs of notable individuals. Content is drawn from many highly respected reference sources published by H. W. Wilson and others, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, and World Artists. Search by name, profession or field of renown, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, birth date, death date, keyword, and availability of images.
Need help? Ask your librarian!
Contact WOU Library
Text message: 503-383-9681