Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News databases for perspectives from other places, both nationally and internationally.
Indexes and provides access to selected full-text articles from nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text articles from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, and The San Jose Mercury News.
Newsbank provides access to over 900 newspapers from 52 US states and territories. Content ranges in date from 1978 to current.
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers.
Information Sources Outside the Mainstream
These are news and information sources that provide perspectives that are not always included in mainstream American media - or academic databases for that matter.
"a daily news site...produced by a multiracial team of writers who cover stories from the perspective of community, rather than through the lens of power brokers."
"The premier news, opinion and culture site for African-American influencers. Founded in 2008, under the leadership of Dr. Henry Louis Gates Jr., The Root provides smart, timely coverage of breaking news, thought-provoking commentary and gives voice to a changing, more diverse America."
This podcast provides "the fearless conversations about race that you've been waiting for! Hosted by journalists of color, our podcast tackles the subject of race head-on."
The Marshall Project
"a nonprofit news organization that focuses on the American criminal justice system. Our mission is to create and sustain a sense of urgency about criminal justice in America. We aim at all times for accuracy, fairness, and impartiality."
Al Jazeera America
"the U.S. based news channel that provides both domestic and international news coverage for its American audiences. Translated from Arabic, 'Al Jazeera' means 'peninsula.'"
BBC World News
The BBC is a public corporation of the UK government's Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport. Get the latest news, features and analysis from Africa, the Asia-Pacific, Europe, Latin America, the Middle East, South Asia, and more.
The Society Pages
"an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota" built for academic and non-academic audiences. Use anytime you ask yourself regarding a social or political issue, "what does the research say?"
"a national, daily, independent, award-winning news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez. Democracy Now!’s War and Peace Report provides our audience with access to people and perspectives rarely heard in the U.S.corporate-sponsored media, including independent and international journalists, ordinary people from around the world who are directly affected by U.S. foreign policy, grassroots leaders and peace activists, artists, academics and independent analysts."
Contact WOU Library
Text message: 503-383-9681