LibGuides: HST 427: Modern France: The 20th Century : Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

Historical access to newspapers will vary a lot depending on newspaper titles and how far back into history you are delving. If your search provides only a citation or abstract for a newspaper article -- and you need the full text -- you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan or contact me for help.

Newspaper Source
Indexes and provides access to selected full-text articles from nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text articles from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, and The San Jose Mercury News.

New York Times
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Content does not include the New York Times Magazine.

Note: To access the NYT website, please follow these instructions to setup an account.
New York Times archive
Contains full text of articles from 1851-1922. Provides citations and abstracts only for articles published from 1923-1980. Full text of articles published from 1923-1980 may be viewed on microfilm at the library.