Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Decades Primary Sources
Call Number: E-Book (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
American decades: Primary documents [1900-1999]
Call Number: Online
Oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and other primary sources that represent the important issues, themes, movements and events from each of the 20th century decades.
NOTE: Frequently, the web links within the Further Resources have moved since this book was published, resulting in a 404 error, or "Page not found." Edit the web address to just the domain name (ex: http://www.jass.com, or www.pbs.org) and search the site for the source, or Google the source title and publishing site.
American Memory Timeline
Provides brief essays describing discrete periods in American history with links to digitized primary source materials from the Library of Congress.
America History & Life: CLIO Notes
Provides a timeline with brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
Digital History: Online American History Textbook
An online textbook that provides an interactive, multimedia history of the United States from the Revolution to the present.
A comprehensive reference source that provides factual, descriptive, and editorial content about music recordings.
The World's Music Charts
Combines in a single database 364,057 individual chart entries about the most popular 129,821 songs and 49,983 albums released since the year 1900. The site lists the top 100 songs and albums from most years, as well as every song or album that has been a hit anywhere for the top 1000 artists (including their collaborations). Every entry includes a complete list of the charts that it featured in, and a complete list of original sources is provided.
Overviews of 20th century America
Reference books can be a great place to start. They provide quick a overview of many topics, providing reliable facts and other useful background information. Print reference books are located on the first floor of Hamersly Library. You can access e-books online by clicking on the book title.
Call Number: Reference E169.12 .A419
American Decades documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history, from 1900 to 2009
. Each volume begins with an overview and chronology covering the entire decade. Subject chapters follow, each including an explanatory background overview; subject-specific timeline; and alphabetically arranged entries discussing the people, events and ideas important to that subject during the period. Included are biographies; explanations of concepts; terms and events; quotations; charts; sidebars covering high-interest topics; and much more.
We also have ebook format for the 2000-2009 volume.
Reader's Companion to American History
Call Number: E-Book (ebrary)
Covering political, economic, cultural, and social history, and combining hundreds of short descriptive entries with longer evaluative articles, the encyclopedia is informative, engaging, and a pleasure to read. The Reader's Companion is sponsored by the Society of American Historians, an organization dedicated to promoting literary excellence in the writing of biography and history.
The Cambridge companion to modern American culture
Call Number: Reference E169.1 .C36 2006
Offers a comprehensive, authoritative and accessible overview of the cultural themes and intellectual issues that drive the dominant culture of the twentieth century. This companion explores the social, political and economic forces that have made America what it is today. It shows how these contexts impact upon twentieth-century American literature, cinema and art. An international team of contributors examines the special contribution of African Americans and of immigrant communities to the variety and vibrancy of modern America. The essays range from art to politics, popular culture to sport, immigration and race to religion and war.
Encyclopedia of religious and spiritual development
Call Number: E-Book (Sage eReference)
This innovative Encyclopedia offers insight into the characteristics of people and their contexts that interact to influence religious and spiritual development over time. Editors Elizabeth M. Dowling and W. George Scarlett provide readers with glimpses into the religious and spiritual developmental trajectories of people from all over the world, from many different religious and spiritual backgrounds. The Reader's Guide groups entries into the areas of The Arts, Religious and Spiritual Concepts, Health, Leading Religious and Spiritual Figures, Scholars, Nature, Organizations, Religious and Spiritual Places, Religious and Spiritual Practices Supports/Contexts, Texts, Theory and Traditions.
Genres in music: from Handel to hip-hop
Call Number: Online video - Films on Demand
This program provides an overview of musical genres, including forms of classical music, rock and pop, musical theater, 20th- and 21st-century film music, heavy metal, and rap.
Overviews of Popular Music
American popular music over multiple decades.
Oxford Music Online
Call Number: E-Book (Oxford)
A great resource for background information on musicians and musical topics. Includes full-text for the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Also includes selected entries from The New Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed. Access restricted to current WOU students, faculty and staff.
Call Number: E-Book (free access)
Provides biographical information for hundreds of musicians and musical groups, including bibliographical references and discographies.
The Encyclopedia of popular music by
Call Number: Reference ML102.P66 G84 2006
A comprehensive source for information on popular music. Includes more than 6,000 entries covering various genres of popular music (such as jazz, country, folk, and rock), composers, performers, albums, and individual songs. Volumes 1-8 are arranged alphabetically by topic. Volume 9 consists of a comprehensive bibliography and discography. Volume 10 includes comprehensive indexes (album, song, general) to the earlier volumes.
Joel Whitburn's Pop memories, 1890-1954
Call Number: ML156.4.P6 W485 1986
The first documented history of the music America listened to from the Gay Nineties to the Rockin' Fifties, taken from a variety of popular music charts. Artist Section lists each artist's charted recordings in chronological order, with each recording's highest charted position, date first charted, total weeks charted, original label and number, total weeks in the #1 or #2 position, and much more. Includes a wealth of facts and notes about many recordings and artists of pop's early years. Complete Title Section cross-references all titles alphabetically with significant chart data.
American song lyricists, 1920-1960
Call Number: Reference PN451 .D5 v.265
One volume in the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, an award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Systematically presents career biographies and criticism.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
An online guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. Provides information about the Library's extensive collections of performing arts related materials, including digitized copies of selected materials. Also offers a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits.
Chat or Zoom with WOU Library