A digital humanities project regarding the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789. The site is designed to provide translated excerpts of 18th century pamphlets from French to English to increase access to rare documents.
"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community."
83 satirical prints, or caricatures, from French and English artists of the Napoleonic Period, all giving political commentary on events of the period. Scroll down from the full image view to see complete description, translations, and historical notes.
A large collection of primarily British caricatures, with others from France, Germany, Russia, and other locales. Be sure to find the Full Description for the image, which has an abstract of the image and transcription of the text.
Newberry French Pamphlet Collection
Browse and search more than 35,000 pamphlets totaling approximately 850,000 pages from the Newberry's renowned collection of French Revolutionary material. Texts in French.
A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full PDF downloading of works in the public domain.
Over 6 million accessible, public domain texts in digital format. Content includes fiction and non-fiction books, serials, archival materials, maps, diaries, photographs, government documents, and many other printed works from around the world.
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, this online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
3 million records describing archival materials. To search for digital resources, add "webcontent:1" to your keyword search. Some of these digital resources will be online finding aids to the physical-only collection; other records will include a link to digital objects or a collection. The Summary View of results provides ways to narrow by Places, Topic, etc.
A web-based service for streaming educational videos distributed by Films Media Group. This vast archive currently includes more than 6,100 complete titles and 63,000 individual segments which may be viewed legally by current WOU students, faculty and staff anytime, anywhere. Videos are organized into comprehensive curriculum-based collections. View in Windows Media or Flash format.