Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Logo WOU Home Library Home

Evaluating Special Education Research Guide: Finding Articles from Library Databases

Research at WOU

When conducting research at WOU, you can search a variety of databases. This page contains a list of useful databases for Education Research as well as 5 Tips for Searching for Quantitative and Qualitative Articles and a tutorial that explain our Find it@WOU. 

NEVER PAY for articles. If you can't get access or are asked to pay for an article, e-mail me the citation.  

5 Tips for Searching for Quantitative and Qualitative Articles

Find it at WOU

This tutorial explains the various scenarios for getting the full text of an article when you click on Find it @ WOU.

Library Databases

Here is a list of library databases useful in researching Special Education 

Education Full Text (including ERIC) provides has articles relating to teaching and education published since 1995. Also includes citations and full text from the ERIC database (which include curricula, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials addressing topics in education). 

SAGE Complete A-Z List
Peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Education, Nursing & Public Health, Psychology, Sociology published by SAGE and participating societies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.

Teacher Reference Center
Covers key education topics, including: Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

Educator's Reference Complete
This comprehensive database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The database also includes resources on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.

Professional Development Collection
This is a specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators covering the most current topics in the field of education.

OTHER DATABASES 

PsychInfo has academic journal articles covering psychology and the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection has academic articles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

The following are general content databases: 

Academic Search Premier has newspapers, magazines, and academic articles.

A complete listing of the WOU databases, with descriptions.

 

Need Help?

NEED HELP? 

Robert Monge 
Education Librarian
monger@wou.edu
(503) 838-8887

Available for Zoom Meetings.

 

APA CITATION HELP


 

Noodle Tools - a cloud based software to help with your citations. Free for WOU students