Skip to main content
Library Logo WOU Home Library Home

Organizational Leadership: Academic Databases

Finding Scholarly Materials

Leadership comes in all shapes and sizes, and in every career field. Below is a selection of databases by subject that you may use in your research. If none of them align well with your subject, please consult the master-list of subject research guides: http://research.wou.edu/?b=s

If you're having trouble finding information on a specific topic for class, please contact the liaison librarian to discuss your needs.

Selected Education Databases

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

Educators Reference Complete
This comprehensive database covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing. The database also includes resources on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.

Sage Complete A-Z List
The SAGE Subject Collections are discipline-specific packages of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science & Engineering, Nursing & Public Health, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by SAGE and participating societies.

Full list of Education Databases

Selected Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index
Indexes and provides abstracts from books and journals covering philosophy and related fields. Topics covered include ethics, aesthetics, logic, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysics as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and includes full-text for more than 300 journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics related to theology and philosophical studies. Specific topics covered include: world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Religion and Philosophy Collection (Gale)
InfoTrac Religion & Philosophy features a custom selection of more than 250 magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy, archaeology and anthropology.

Humanities Abstracts
Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
 

Selected Business Databases

Business Collection
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Business Economics & Theory Collection
Find articles published in journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics. Includes more than 450 full-text journals and regular feeds of videos from Forbes.com that contain business news coverage and interviews with business leaders.

Hoover's Company Profiles
In-depth reports on over 40,000 public companies, 225,000 key business executives, as well as industry information. Access restricted to current WOU students, faculty and staff.

Full list of Business / Economics Databases

Selected Psychology/Sociology Databases

PsycINFO
​Indexes and summarizes more than 2 million scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Indexes and provides full-text for 575 publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Psychology Collection
Students, psychologists, counselors, counselees, behavioral scientists, and other researchers will glean relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in over 3.1 million articles. Powered by InfoTrac, Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 500 journals, with a strong emphasis on full text titles cited in PsycINFO.

SocINDEX
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.

Full list of Psychology Databases

Full list of Sociology Databases