Race and Gender in Jazz Studies Subject Guide

Find articles published in hundreds of international music journals covering history, forms and types of music, and instruments, including electronic instruments and computer produced music. Covers articles published since 1970. For articles published 1949-1969, consult the print version of Music Index shelved in our Reference collection.

SocINDEX features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Provides research in communication and mass media studies and in closely-related fields of study. A unique feature of the database is the inclusion of Author Profiles, providing biographical, bibliographic, and contact information for the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.

Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.

Search more than 5 million articles published in fine arts and music sources. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for academic research including journal articles, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and other scholarly material.
Using the library links ensures that you don't have to pay for articles. Just use the "Find it @ WOU" link located to the right of or below the article (you need to use the expand arrows to see it when it is below the article).

Rock's Backpages is an online archive of music journalism, sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. The articles are full text and searchable, and all are reproduced with the permission of the copyright holders. As of June 2018 its database contains over 36,000 articles, including interviews, features and reviews, which covered popular music from blues and soul up to the present date.