LibGuides: Choral Literature Subject Guide: Interpretive Sources

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the best, most comprehensive site for research on musicians and musical topics. Draws together and updates several multi-volume print Grove Dictionary titles, most of which are also in Hamersly Library's collection. Hint: Above the search results from Grove, be sure to also click the provided links to other Oxford titles. Example:

See especially entries on

Performing Practice, divided into period sections.
Choral music, divided into sections by period
Choral genres such as Plainchant, Anthem, Chorale settings--Vocal, Motet, Mass, Madrigal, Orotorio, Opera, etc.
Under individual composers entries, relevant article contents for discussion (ex. Lieder and choral music) and/or listing compositions (ex. Works-->Choral).

Selected Monographs

Choral Masterworks from Bach to Britten: Reflections of a Conductor by Robert J. Summer
Call Number: ML1500 .S86 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Choral Monuments: Studies of Eleven Choral Masterworks by Dennis Shrock
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780190469023
Publication Date: 2017
Also available in print through Summit.
A History of Western Choral Music by Chester L. Alwes
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Framing discussion of major choral composers and works within the political, religious, cultural, philosophical, aesthetic, and technological contexts of each era. Volume 1: From medieval foundations to the romantic age, and Volume 2: Romanticism through the Avant-Garde. Also available in Print though Summit (specify volume needed).

Finding Books, E-books, and other materials

Search for books, e-books, articles, and other materials at Western Oregon University, Summit, and beyond.

After your initial search, filter the results to Resource Types-->Print Books and eBooks . You can read e-books on any computer or download to your digital device. See: Using eBooks @ WOU

Summit libraries and locations

Article Databases

Find articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers and other media.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Music Index
Find articles published in hundreds of international music journals covering history, forms and types of music, and instruments, including electronic instruments and computer produced music. Covers articles published since 1970. For articles published 1949-1969, consult the print version of Music Index shelved in our Reference collection.
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
Find articles published between 1907 and 1984 in English-language scholarly journals and specialized magazines covering a broad range of humanities and social sciences disciplines.
Fine Arts & Music Collection
Search more than 5 million articles published in fine arts and music sources. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.