For your article summaries assignment you need two scholarly research articles on a single issue or topic on substance abuse or addiction disease. For a refresher on what a scholarly article (also called peer-reviewed article) is, watch the 3-minute video below:
The best place to start searching the library is Primo--the main search form on the library homepage. The PDF below provides step-by-step instructions for researching using Primo to find articles and books, along with additional tips for searching and finding scholarly sources in general.
How to search using Primo (the WOU library search engine)
To begin searching in Primo, just go to the library homepage at https://library.wou.edu/ and enter your keywords in the main search box:
You can also find scholarly articles and books (mainly articles) by searching in one or more of the smaller, subject-specific databases that the library subscribes to, as described in this PDF:
Five steps to searching any database (ex. EBSCO's PsycInfo)
Linked below are some additional databases you may want to use to conduct your research. Just like in Primo, search using keywords about your topic. Most of what is available in these databases will show up in your Primo searches, but since these databases are smaller and subject-specific you will get fewer results and therefore might find them easier to manage.
NOTE: While these databases contain Criminal Justice articles and journals, they also contain other subjects. It is up to you to decide if the article you're looking at fits the requirements of your assignment. Similarly, most of the results in these databases will be journal articles, but there will also be other types of sources that show up so make sure what you're looking at is an article. If you're not sure, ask a librarian!
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 5,740 journals, including more than 5,310 peer-reviewed titles.
Indexes and summarizes more than 2 million scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. 97 percent of the material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
Ask WOU Library