Finding Books and eBooks at WOU
Search our library catalog to find books, ebooks, and other material. Ebooks are available from any digital device. If you live outside Monmouth/Salem area, you can request materials be mailed to you with free return postage.
Finding Articles at WOU
Here is are a list of recommended article databases for your Health Education and Exercise Science research topics. The databases have options for limiting to peer reviewed articles, by date, and full text. If something isn't available please contact the library for assistance.
HEALTH--ACADEMIC
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Database about healthcare and pharmacology
Medline (EBSCO) Created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine
PubMed Primary database for researchers in the fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, and related life sciences
Health Reference Center Academic Contains articles from a nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters
HEALTH--CONSUMER
Health Source: Consumer Edition Provides access to consumer health magazines, health reference books, and drug entries
EXERCISE SCIENCE
SPORTDiscus Find articles published in sources that specialize in sports, fitness and related disciplines
Physical Education Index Includes journal articles, report literature, conference proceedings, and patents covering physical education and sports
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection Database topics include: treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and more
ALTERNATIVE MEDICINE
Alt HealthWatch Offers journal articles and reports, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts
OTHER DATABASES
Google Scholar Research including journal articles and other scholarly material
JSTOR Arts & Sciences Articles covering multiple subjects
Education Full Text and ERIC Articles covering education
NEWSPAPERS
Newsbank over 900 newspapers from 52 US states and territories
.
Additional Subject Guides at WOU
Schedule an in-person or zoom meeting with a librarian:
Drop-in Research Help
Librarians are in the library lobby Mondays-Thursdays
1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Meet with a librarian