LibGuides: BA 486 International Marketing: Country Research

Country Rankings

Business Ready - The World Bank
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Includes country rankings.
Index of Economic Freedom
Produced by The Heritage Foundation and The Wall Street Journal. Measures 10 benchmarks that gauge the economic success of 183 countries around the world. Provides tools for comparing selected countries.
Country Risk and Economic Research - Coface
Country risk and business climate assessments for +160 countries and 13 sectors.

US Multinational Corporations

These sources can help you identify US-based companies that operate internationally and in specific countries.

Fortune's Global 500 - US
A list of all of the US-based companies included in Fortune magazine's Global 500 list.
Great Place to Work - International search
Search by country to find lists of recognized companies, including US-based multinationals.
American Chambers of Commerce Abroad
Locate affiliates by country. Many affiliates provide lists of US companies operating in a given country on their websites, or you can request such a list via e-mail.

Country Profiles

A to Z the world
An international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.

BBC News - Country Profiles
Provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Country Commercial Guides from the US government
This free resource includes access to Country Commercial Guides for US companies entering a new market, as well as market reports on various industries.
Country Corruption Perception Index
Measures the perceived levels of public sector corruption in 180 countries and territories.
Country Insights - globalEDGE
Provides statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Also includes historical, economic, and political conditions. Data is compiled from US Government and other reputable sources.
Country reports & profiles - Business Source Premier
Obtain reports prepared by professional business analysts that provide in-depth background information for a given country. Coverage includes key facts, economic competitiveness, political, social, economic, legal and technological climate and risks.
Country Risk - ratings from AM Best
Provides free reports assessing risk factors in countries around the world. AM Best is a full-service credit rating organization dedicated to serving the insurance industry.
globalEDGE - Doing Business In ... course modules
A series of online tutorials that discuss critical factors related to doing business in a specific country or region of the world. Covers: Africa, Brazil, China, India, Japan, Russia, the European Union, the Middle East, and more.
Intercultural Management | The Culture Factor Group
Measures how values in the workplace are influenced by culture.
UN Data
Includes UN statistical databases in education, employment, energy, environment, food and agriculture, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, trade and tourism.

International trade

Federation of International Trade Associations - FITA
Dedicated to the promotion of international trade, import-export, international logistics management, international finance and more. Website includes links to a wealth of information relevant to international business.
International Trade Administration
Brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace. Includes access to Country Commercial Guides and other "Doing Business In" information.

Contact WOU Library

Chat: Ask WOU Library

E-mail: libweb@wou.edu

Phone: 503-838-8418

Text: 503-383-9681

Hours

Need Research Assistance? Ask a Librarian