Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Logo WOU Home Library Home

Michael L. Printz Award : Home


About the Award

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas. He had a passion for books and reading. He also appreciated the authors who wrote books for young adults and demonstrated this by initiating an author-in-residence program at his high school.

The award is from 2000- present

Select book title to check for availability (opens up in a pop-up window). 

Award by Year 

2020 Dig by A. S. King PZ 7 .K 5693 DIG 2019
The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo FIC ACE  
2018 We Are Okay: A Novel by Nina LaCour FIC LAC
2017 March: Book Three by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, Illustrated by Nate Powell E840.8.L43 A3
2016 Bone Gap by Laura Ruby FIC RUB
2015 I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson FIC NEL
2013 In Darkness by Nick Lake FIC LAK
2012 Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley FIC WHA
2011 Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi FIC BAC
2010 Going Bovine by Libba Bray FIC BRA
2009 Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta FIC MAR
2008 The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean FIC MCA
2007 American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang FIC YAN
2006 Looking for Alaska by John Green FIC GRE
2005 How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff FIC ROS
2004 The First Part Last by Angela Johnson FIC JOH
2003 Postcards from No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers FIC CHA
2002 A Step from Heaven by An Na FIC NA
2001 Kit's Wilderness by David Almond FIC ALM
2000 Monster by Walter Dean Myers FIC MYE