Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

.Chemistry Subject Guide: Databases and Indexes

Databases and Indexes

Search chemistry resources

 

Academic Search Premier (1984- ) (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracting of over 2,880 scholarly and popular periodicals in all disciplines, with the full text of over 1,250 periodicals. 

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications (1996- ) Full text access to over 25 ACS journals.

Chemical Abstracts Restricted to WOU chemistry students with STN login. Covers the worldwide literature of chemistry and its applications.

ChemFinder (Cambridge Soft) Searchable by common or chemical name, molecular weight, molecular formula, evaporation rate, structure, or CAS registry number. Includes pertinant information such as melting, boiling and flash points, RTECS, DOT and EPA codes, specific gravity, solubility, vapor density, and structure for a variety of compounds. Also contains links for each compound.

ChemIDplus Povides access to structure and nomenclature information for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases. The database contains over 379,000 chemical records, of which over 257,000 include chemical structures. ChemIDplus Lite is available for Name and RN searching without the need for plugins or applets.

Google Scholar

Health Source Plus (1990- )

Kluwer Online An online journal package including more than 600 titles and covering information across the disciplines. Particularly stron in the natural and social sciences. Browse by title or use the limited searching features included. Many of our other databases include links to these titles.

Medline Contains more than 4 million citations over a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. There are several interfaces for accessing Medline:

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Ebscohost
FirstSearch

PubChem PubChem consists of three linked databases that contain the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.

Scopus Trial through 2007
Covers 14,200 peer reviewed journals, primarily in the sciences.

Springerlink Provides online, full-text access to more than 500 journal titles. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.

Toxline A bibliographic database covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. It contains over 3 million citations, almost all with abstracts and/or index terms and CAS Registry Numbers.