Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Logo WOU Home Library Home

.Chemistry Subject Guide: Books

Books

Reference Works by Topic

This is a list of selected reference books OR browse by call number to discover other helpful books. Click here to see the list of call numbers.

Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry - QD4. A2313 1994

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - QD65 .C72

Dictionary of Environmentally Important Chemical Elements - TD196 .C45 A97 1999

Diverse Atoms: Profiles of the Chemical Elements QD466 .R63 1998

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry - QD65 .L36 1999

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry - QD4 .M33 1997

The Merck Index - RS51 .M4 2001

Nomenclature of Inorganic Chemistry - QD159 .I57 1971

Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International - S587 .O38

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - QD415 .A25 .O94 2000


Online Books

IUAP Compendium of Chemical Terminology Online ("The Gold Book")

NIST Chemistry Webbook - Chemical data and spectra

Oxford Reference Online - Includesa Dictionary of Chemistry as well as many other useful sources.

Background Information

A great place to start is the Reference Collection. Use it to find a topic, understand a theory or concept, locate keywords, get a definition, or find an overview of developments in chemistry. 

Call numbers useful for Chemistry: 

QD
-  Chemistry
QP
-  Physiology and Biochemistry
QR
-  Microbiology
R
- General Medicine
RA
- Forensics, Toxicology, Public Health, Health Policy and Administration of Services
RB
- Laboratory Medicine, Pathology
RC
- Internal Medicine
RM
- Pharmacology, Therapeutics
RS
- Pharmacy 
  Specific Call Numbers from ChemInfo