Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

Children's Literature Award Winners: Home

Award Winning Children's Literature at WOU

Below is a list of Children's Literature Awards. Each list will include the award winning books by year and a link to the book in our library catalog (PRIMO). If the book is checked out, you will be provided with a link to SUMMIT to request a copy.  Books without a link are on order and will be available soon.



Caldecott Medal

"The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." -- Association for Library Service to Children: Caldecott Medal.

The award is given from 1938-Present

Newbery Medal

"The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." -- From Association for Library Service to Children Newbery Medal

The Medal has been awarded since 1922.



undefinedAmerican Youth Indian Literature Award ‚Äč

The American Indian Youth Literature Awards are given biannually to outstanding Native American and Indigenous authors and illustrators from North America who demonstrate in their work the fullness of humanity in the lives of North American Indigenous peoples. The Awards are conducted by the American Indian Library Association. Categories include Best Picture Book, Best Middle Grade Book, and Best Young Adult Book. Awards given 2006-Present.

Coretta Scott King Award


The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.  Categories include Author and Illustrator and the John Steptoe award for new talent. Award given 1970-Present

Eloise Jarvis Mcgraw Award for Children's Literature (Oregon) 

Leslie Bradshaw Award for Young Adult Literature (Oregon)

"This award was created in 1999 by friends and family to honor a devoted lover of literature, Leslie Bradshaw (1952-1998). Bradshaw was well known within her community for sharing a passion for reading and love of a good story. She inspired many children at Beaver Acres Elementary School in Beaverton to become engaged with books"-- Oregon Book Awards Literary Arts--Young Readers 

Categories include Children's Literature and Young Adult Literature


Pura Belpré Award

"The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. --Association for Library Service to Children--Pura Belpre


Michael L. Printz Award

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas. He had a passion for books and reading. He also appreciated the authors who wrote books for young adults and demonstrated this by initiating an author-in-residence program at his high school.

The award is from 2000- present

Robert F. Sibert Award

The Sibert Award honors the most distinguished informational book published in English in the preceding year for its significant contribution to children’s literature.

The award is given 2001-Present

Dolly Gray Children's Award 

The Dolly Gray Children’s Literature Award was initiated in 2000 to recognize authors, illustrators, and publishers of high quality fictional and biographical children, intermediate, and young adult books that appropriately portray individuals with developmental disabilities. 

The Schneider Family Book Awards

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. 2004- Present 

Stonewall Book Award --- Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award

The Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award is given annually to English-language works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience.

Mathical Book Prize

Award-winning Mathical titles are selected by a nationwide committee of mathematicians, educators, librarians, early childhood experts, and others. Each year’s selections joins a growing list of stories ranging from picture books and graphic novels to chapter books and young adult literature.

The Mathical Book Prize is awarded by the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI), in partnership with the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) and the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), and in coordination with the Children's Book Council (CBC). 

NCTE Orbis Pictus Award

The NCTE Orbis Pictus Award was established in 1989 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. Orbis Pictus commemorates the work of Johannes Amos Comenius, Orbis Pictus- The World in Pictures(1658), considered to be the first book actually planned for children. 


NCTE Charlotte Huck Award

The NCTE Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction for Children was established in 2014 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of fiction for children. This award recognizes fiction that has the potential to transform children's lives by inviting compassion, imagination, and wonder. 

Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students

The books that appear in these lists were selected as outstanding children's science trade books. They were chosen by a book review panel appointed by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and assembled in cooperation with the Children's Book Council (CBC). NSTA and CBC have joined forces on this bibliographic project since 1973, when the list was known as Outstanding Science Trade Books for Children and was primarily targeted at grades K through 8. Beginning in 2002, the list has been expanded to include high school as well.