LibGuides: FYS 107: How to Write a Novel in a Month: Library Resources

Finding books, articles, and more

A good place to start your search is the library's "search engine," Primo. To begin searching in Primo, just go to the library homepage at https://library.wou.edu/ and enter your keywords in the main search box.

WOU has online, full-text access to thousands of articles and is a member of Summit, which gives you access to millions of books from other colleges and universities -- delivered right to WOU!

Below are a few other good starting points for journal articles. Just like in Primo, search these databases using keywords. Most of what is available in these databases will show up in your Primo searches, but since these databases are smaller and subject-specific you will get fewer results and therefore might find them easier to manage.

To find other databases for your topic area:

Go to the library web site library.wou.edu
Click the white box underneath the main search form that says "Article & Research Databases"
Choose your subject from the "Databases By Subject" pull-down menu in the lower-right of the page

A to Z the world This link opens in a new window
An international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides citations and full-text for articles published in nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Artcyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Find museum-quality digital images of fine art on the Internet. Indexes image content available on museum and other web sites. Primary focus is on painting and sculpture, but there is some coverage of other disciplines, including photography, decorative arts, installation art, digital art, folk art, and architecture.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to reports that examine contemporary social and political issues. Compiled by staff at Congressional Quarterly, Inc., an independent research firm, each report includes more than 12,000 words and an extensive bibliography on a single topic. Covers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based service for streaming educational videos distributed by Films Media Group. This vast archive currently includes more than 6,100 complete titles and 63,000 individual segments which may be viewed legally by current WOU students, faculty and staff anytime, anywhere. Videos are organized into comprehensive curriculum-based collections. View in Windows Media or Flash format.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930 This link opens in a new window
Books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and other historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the United States from the ratification of the Constitution in 1789 to the Great Depression.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
U.S. History Collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of over 40 journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Content includes reference works, millions of news and periodical articles, and more than 5,000 rare and vital primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
Women Working, 1800-1930 This link opens in a new window
From the website: This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues are all well documented by original source material.