LibGuides: FYS 107: How to Write a Novel in a Month: Internet Resources

Online archives & other websites for finding primary sources

National, statewide, and local resources that can be searched and accessed online. If none of these have what you're looking for, try searching online for other resources using similar keywords, such as "archive," "special collections," "digital collections," "digital records," "historical society," "primary documents," etc.

American Memory Project
From the Library of Congress. A gateway to the vast resources of digitized American historical materials maintained by the Library of Congress. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into thematic collections based on original format, subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library. The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings. Please note that many titles originally from this collection have been moved to different collections.

City of Portland Archives & Records Management
Search database for Portland city records such as ordinances, resolutions, City Council minutes, historical documents and photographs.
Early Oregonians Database
Documents individuals who lived in Oregon prior to statehood through 1860.
Historical Newspapers and Indexes - USA
Links to newspaper indexes and archives. Organized by state.

Historic Oregon Newspapers

On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP).
Internet Archive
Seeks to provide permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.

Lewis & Clark Special Collections and Archive
Early manuscripts, and historical collections including extensive holdings on the World War II Civilian Public Service, pacifism, women’s suffrage, and one of the world’s most complete collections of printed materials on the Lewis & Clark Expedition.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The official library of Congress, and the unofficial national library of the United States. The largest library in the world! With a plethora of digitized material to explore.
National Archives - Research our Records
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you.
Oregon Historical Society
Search the Oregon Historical Society Library catalog for all sorts of historical material.
Portland State University Special Collections
Photographs, oral histories, Oregon public speakers, African American history in Oregon, Portland region planning history, women in Oregon politics, history of community organizations.
The Oregon Territory and its Pioneers
Genealogy and family history website devoted to early Oregon Territory settler families and history, including lists of pioneers of various wagon trains, by year.
The WOU Archive's Digital Collections
Digitized materials relating to WOU and the history of the surrounding Monmouth/Independence area.
UW Libraries Special Collections, Digital Collections
Rare books, manuscripts, papers, records, photographs, moving images and architectural drawings from around the Pacific Northwest.

World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary sources and materials from countries and cultures around the world.