Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Scholarly Articles
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes more than 4000 journals, book series and dissertations covering literature, languages, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Indexes and abstracts approximately 2300 journals dealing with the history the world since 1450, excludes Canada and the United States.
America: History & Life
This database indexes and provides abstracts for articles published in more than 2300 sources. Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Includes journal articles, reviews of books and media, and dissertations.
Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Databases for Primary Sources in French
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Provides full-text for more than 100 dictionaries and other reference books, including English, French, Spanish, German, and Italian dictionaries. Also, thesauri, quotations, and reference sources in many subject areas, including the Arts, Business, History, Literature, Politics, Religion, and the Sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides online access to the full-text of 25 major reference books in various academic disciplines.
A to Z the world
An international resource for social, cultural, travel, and business information. The database covers 175 countries and territories and includes information on demographics, economy, holidays, currencies, visas, climate, passports, immunization, entry and departure, emergencies, internal travel information, country and regional maps, airports, international dialing guides, and more.
Biography Reference Center
This database contains more than 450,000 full-text biographies and obituaries, and more than 32,000 photographs of notable individuals. Content is drawn from many highly respected reference sources published by H. W. Wilson and others, including Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, and World Artists. Search by name, profession or field of renown, title, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, titles of works, birth date, death date, keyword, and availability of images.
Contact WOU Library
Text message: 503-383-9681