Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Specific subjects or styles
American Abstract Artists
A democratic artist-run organization founded in 1936 in New York City to promote and foster understanding of abstract and non-objective art. AAA organizes exhibitions, produces member print portfolios and catalogs, and publishes the American Abstract Artists Journal. The website includes listings of current and past members.
Figurative Artists Directory
An online museum devoted to figurative art. Includes links and representative images of works from more than 500 artists working in this genre.
A list of artists known for painting landscapes compiled by Art Cyclopedia.
Landscapes, Classical to Modern
Curricular materials on the landscape genre prepared by the J. Paul Getty Museum. Includes historical background, representative images, lesson plans and discussion questions, and a bibliography.
Find museum-quality digital images of fine art on the Internet. Indexes image content available on museum and other web sites. Primary focus is on painting and sculpture, but there is some coverage of other disciplines, including photography, decorative arts, installation art, digital art, folk art, and architecture.
Google Art Project
A collaboration between Google and 151 acclaimed art museums and other partners from across 40 countries. Seeks to provide a unique online art experience. Users can explore a wide range of artworks at brushstroke level detail, take a virtual tour of a museum and even build their own collections to share.
A growing collection of contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists.
BBC - Your Paintings
Aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country.
An online archive of new media art containing more than 2000 art works. The ArtBase encompasses a vast range of projects by artists all over the world that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetics and critical ends.
Stock photography & icons
everystockphoto search engine
A search engine for free photos from many sources. Includes licensing information.
A leading database of royalty-free stock photographs. Website also includes a long list of links to other free web-based photo resources and partners.
A leading source for royalty-free stock images, media and design elements.
Seeks to provide quality stock photos for commercial and non-commercial use. For free.
Stock photo sharing website where photographers, designers and students can share their photographs, graphics and image files with each other for free.
Download free images for use in corporate and personal projects.
e-Cobo - stock photos
Offers a collection of high resolution, royalty-free stock photos.
Download free icons: 10 great resources
A list of sites that offer free icon downloads.