It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database indexes and provides abstracts for articles published in more than 2300 sources. Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Includes journal articles, reviews of books and media, and dissertations.
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) covers theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. In addition, its atlas feature provides basic country data, detailed maps, and economic and political reports and analysis conducted by the Economist Intelligence Unit, the research arm of group that publishes The Economist magazine.
A web-based service for streaming educational videos distributed by Films Media Group. This vast archive currently includes more than 6,100 complete titles and 63,000 individual segments which may be viewed legally by current WOU students, faculty and staff anytime, anywhere. Videos are organized into comprehensive curriculum-based collections. View in Windows Media or Flash format.
Books, manuscripts, maps, photographs, and other historical materials that document voluntary immigration to the United States from the ratification of the Constitution in 1789 to the Great Depression.
Seeks to provide permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
Indexes and provides cover-to-cover full-text for nearly 400 journals and periodicals covering topics of interest to the government and military audience. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals. Also includes full-text of reference sources, including Background Notes on Countries of the World and the American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, selected pamphlets describing military equipment, and a database containing more than 100,000 images.
Find articles published in popular, general-interest U.S. magazines and newspapers between 1890 and 1982. An especially good source for locating primary materials related to the study of U.S. history and popular culture. To find articles published 1982-2000, consult the print Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. For articles after 2000, use the MasterFILE Premier database.
U.S. History Collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in US History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of over 40 journals provides robust and balanced coverage of this field, useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Provides online full-text access to more than 100 projects that present and interpret historic documents related to women's history in American activism, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. The site includes thousands of primary documents, analyses, images, and charts, and links out to relevant websites. Also includes the online edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary, Notable American Women (1971-2004).
From the website: This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygiene, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues are all well documented by original source material.
Archives West provides enhanced access to archival and manuscript collections in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington through a union database of Encoded Archival Description (EAD) finding aids. Significant subject commonalties include the major economic forces in the region- agriculture, forest, products, fisheries, and natural resources; urban and rural social and progressive movements; local state, regional, and national politics; outdoor recreation; Native American language and culture; and the place of religious communities in the region.
Includes collections found at Western Oregon University.
Provides statistics from more than 1000 sources. Includes more than 37,000 data series, covering dozens of new topics such as: slavery, American Indians, and poverty. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
A bibliography of scholarly materials related to Latin America, multidisciplinary for Humanities, the Arts, and Social Sciences: Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Content does not include the New York Times Magazine.
Contains full text of articles from 1851-1922. Provides citations and abstracts only for articles published from 1923-1980. Full text of articles published from 1923-1980 may be viewed on microfilm at the library.
Serves as a home for electronic Oregon newspaper indexes. Provides links to indexes for Oregon newspapers available in electronic format. Also provides information about print indexes and availability of historic newspapers throughout the state.
Provides full-text for more than 100 dictionaries and other reference books, including English, French, Spanish, German, and Italian dictionaries. Also, thesauri, quotations, and reference sources in many subject areas, including the Arts, Business, History, Literature, Politics, Religion, and the Sciences.