Congressional LexisNexis Subscription database including index and abstracts of congressional publications; full text of congressional reports, documents, prints, and bills; bill tracking; The Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; public laws and the United States Code Service.
LexisNexis Legal Subscription databast that supports research in U.S. and International law. Access full-text legal news and law reviews. Research patents issued from 1971 to present.
FirstGov The official web portal for U.S. government information. Claims to provide the most comprehensive search of government information anywhere on the Internet. Supports searches for U.S. information from executive, legislative, and judicial branches at the local, state and federal levels. Also provides links to information on international governments.
Local
Local
Oregon Blue Book (online version) The official state directory and fact book. Updated regularly by the state Archives Division, provides current information about all levels and branches of Oregon government, including cities and counties.
POLK Finder A cooperative project of the Polk Library Information Network. Provides information on local gropus, community activities, schools, and city and county government.
City of Monmouth Provides information about the city of Monmouth.
City of Dallas Provides information about the city of Dallas.
City of Salem Provides information about the city of Salem.
Oregon State Government
Oregon state government
Oregon.gov The official web portal for Oregon state government. Provides information and links to websites for all major state agencies, commissions and boards, as well as Oregon legislative and judicial bodies.
Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Access the OARs online: alphabetically by agency name, numerically by OAR chapter number, and by text within the OAR. Published and maintained by the Oregon Secretary of State. We also have the officially published print edition in our Reference collection.
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) Provides online access to the current version of the Oregon Revised Statutes through the Oregon State Legislature website. The text in the online edition is similar to that given in the officially published print edition, but the text in the print edition remains the official text of record in case of discrepancy.
Population Research Center Includes 2000 Census data and annual Oregon population reports designed for urban planning and tax distribution estimates. Sponsored by the College of Urban and Public Affairs at Portland State University.
Oregon Progress Board Includes state agency performance measures, Oregon benchmarks, population survey, sustainability, and additional reports and studies.
US Government
General
FirstGov The official web portal for U.S. government information. Claims to provide the most comprehensive search of government information anywhere on the Internet. Supports searches for U.S. information from executive, legislative, and judicial branches at the local, state and federal levels. Also provides links to information on international governments.
GovEngine Unofficial site with broad information for the judicial branch, executive branch, cabinet departments/agencies, independent agencies/corps boards, commissions & committees statutes, codes, regulations, and acts.
GPO Access GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Includes The United States Code, Public Laws, and Code of Federal Regulations.
Legislative branch
U.S. House of Representatives Official site for the United States House of Representatives, includes general, scheduling, legislative and contact information.
U.S. Senate Official site for the United States Senate, includes information on senators; committees; legislation and records; art and history; a vistor's guide to the Senate, and reference books, documents, and bibliographies on Congress and the government.
General Accounting Office GAO is the investigative arm of the Congress and is charged with examining all matters relating to the receipt and disbursement of public funds.
Thomas Maintained by the Library of Congress, this database provides information on legislation, searchable by bill number or keyword, congressional records, and committee information.
Judicial Branch Resources from GPO Access Informational page provided by GPO Access, includes links to U.S. Supreme Court information, U.S. Trial and Appellate Courts and judicial resources.
Legal Information Institute A non-profit service provided by Cornell University, identified as the most linked-to web resource in the field of law. Provides information for virtually all fields of law, including international, federal, and state.
Whitehouse Provides current news and information regarding the executive process, via briefings, newscasts, webcasts, and internet radio. Also includes information specific to the President, Vice President, First Lady, and history and tours of the White House.
Executive Branch Resources on GPO Access Informational page provided by GPO Access with Executive office information on regulatory process, presidential materials, executive publications, and additional resources.
DefenseLINK Department of Defense home page. This provides links to home pages for the various armed services and other Defense Department sites.
Military Personnel Statistics Directorate for information operations and reports provided by the U.S. Department of Defense.
International
International
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) One of the most comprehensive sources for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. There is data, detailed maps, and economic and political information for over 200 countries. Updated quarterly with information from The Economist and its research arm, The Economist Intelligence Unit.
Portals to the World Part of the Library of Congress's Global Gateway, contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.
Foreign Governments Lists links to the official websites of national governments. Provided by Northwestern University Library.
Europa Gateway for the European Union. Provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
African Union Official website for the African Union, an African organization to facilitate the acceleration of African state integration to make Africa more competitive in the global market.
World Trade Organization Official website for the World Trade Organization. Includes up-to-date and archived trade news, official information regarding trade agreements and processes, from point of origin to dispute settlement to customs valuation.
United Nations Official United Nations homepage. Includes information on the organization of the UN, its members, peace and security, economic and social development, human rights, humanitarian affairs, and international law.
FIRST: Facts on International Relations and Security Issues FIRST is a free of charge service sponsored by the International Relations and Security Network (ISN) and the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). An integrated database system collecting documented information from research institutes from around the world.
Council on Foreign Relations Official website for the Council on Foreign Relations, an independent, national membership organization and a nonpartisan center for scholars dedicated to producing and disseminating ideas so that individual and corporate members, as well as policymakers, journalists, students, and interested citizens in the United States and other countries, can better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other governments.
We're offline, but you can email us (libweb@wou.edu) and we'll get back to you as soon as we can. In the meantime, check our FAQ to see it the answer to your question is there.
Ask WOU Library