Website - Reference Resources: Statistical Information

Statistical sources

This page lists general statistical resources. For additional government sources for statistics, see our Government information sources page. Consult the appropriate Subject Guide for additional resources useful in locating statistics relevant to specific subjects, such as business, education, criminal justice, etc.

Subscription databases

• Statistical LexisNexis
  Covers a wide variety of authoritative statistical sources, including U.S. Federal government sources.
• STAT-USA
  Statistics for business, trade, and economics.
• Historical Statistics of the United States
  Statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.
• Polling the Nations
  Compiles results from more than 14,000 public opinion surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present.

Reference books

• Statistical Abstract of the United States
  Published annually since 1878, the Statistical Abstract is the standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
• Statistical Abstract of the World
  Provides vital statistics for more than 185 countries. Also a good for identifying sources for international statistics.
• Statistical Abstract of Latin America
  Provides vital statistics for Latin American countries.
• Historical Statistics of the United States
  Statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of U.S. history.
• International Historical Statistics
  Presents compilations of historical statistics by continent. Statistics from 1750 to 1993.
• United Nations Statistical Yearbook
  Provides a diverse array of international statistics.

Internet sources

• FedStats
  A portal that provides access to statistics from more than 100 agencies of the U.S. federal government.
• National Center for Education Statistics
  Provides education statistics for the U.S.
• National Climate Data Center
  Provides historical statistics for weather and climate in the U.S.
• Energy Information Administration
  Provides energy statistics for the U.S.
• Bureau of Transportation Statistics
  Provides transportation statistics for the U.S.