Skip to main content

Hamersly Library

.A storehouse of things you might want to add to your libguide: Citation & Writing Help

This is a place to put common elements that might be placed in any libguide

APA Citation Help

The APA Style Aid provides formatting, in-text citation and reference page assistance.

The APA In-Text Guidelines and Examples provides short video demonstratons of the APA In-Text Ciation Rules. 

Avoiding Plagiarism--APA

Avoiding Plagiarism Tutorial--with APA Citations

This short tutorial explains what is plagiarism, how to avoid it using the APA style. There is a brief quiz at the end. If you pass it, you can print out a completion form. If you fail it, you will be sent to the begining of the tutorial.

MLA Citation Help

The MLA Style Aid provides formatting, in-text citation and works cited page assistance.

AMA Citation Help

American Medical Association (AMA) Style Aid

The American Medical Association (AMA) Style Aid includes in-text and reference examples and a sample formatted paper

Exporting and Importing from Databases

If you have multiple citations gathered from databases, importing en masse into EasyBib will be faster than adding them individually with the Autocite feature. Learn how to export from various database platforms and to pull them into EasyBib. 

Writing Center

The Writing Center is the only academic support unit on campus specifically designed to promote your development and success as a college writer. The consultant team is available to assist you in person and online with writing projects for any course and any level of instruction. The Writing Center also offers specialized assistance for multimodal compositions or new media projects like digital narratives, blogs, websites, slideware presentations, and even YouTube videos.

Writing Center

Visit the Writing Center website for current hours. Below are the hours writing tutors are in the library:

Hamersly Library, Room HL 116
Sunday-Thursday
7:00 p.m. -10:00 p.m.
Walk-in sessions only: First come, first served

NoodleTools

NoodleTools helps you write citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago format. It also has tools to create notecards, draft an outline of your paper and keep track of "To Do" tasks. Citations can be exported directly to your Google Drive, or to Word or other formats.

 

EasyBib

EasyBib logo

 

IMPORTANT: The first time you use Easybib EDU, you will need to entere WOU's code. Current students, faculty, and staff can access it here.

If you are logged in to the WOU Portal, you can use the "Log in with Google" button to log in.

EasyBib EDU is an automatic citation & bibliography composer for APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian styles. 

 

EasyBib is also available from the library home page under Accounts.  Hamersly Library provides the premium access to EasyBib--just sign up for a free account. 

EasyBib--A Brief Introduction

EasyBib Instructional Guide

Easy Bib--Sharing Bibliographies

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography
Source: Cornell University Library

Writing an Annotated Bibliography
Source: Californinia Polytecnic State University  

 

How to Write a Literature Review

The following guide from The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill describes in detail the concept and process of writing a literature review.

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research

Zotero

Zotero  is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Why Cite? -- link

Why You Need to Cite Sources
Learn some of the reasons it is important to cite sources when writing a research paper.
text version | more info

Incorporating Sources --link--

Incorporating Sources into Your Research Paper
Learn to structure, analyze and use sources to support an argument in your research paper in this tutorial.
text version | more info