LibGuides: .Music Subject Guide: Journal Articles and Professional Publications

Article Databases

These databases identify articles published in journals, magazines, newspapers and other media.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Find articles published between 1907 and 1984 in English-language scholarly journals and specialized magazines covering a broad range of humanities and social sciences disciplines.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5 million articles published in fine arts and music sources. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Use the "Cited by" feature to find more recent articles that reference your seed article in their bibliographies.

Open Music Library
The Open Music Library is a project to compile dispersed digital content or the study of music: manuscript scores, engraved and annotated scores, video and audio recordings, peer-reviewed journal articles from the world’s digital collections.

Journal of Music
A journal devoted to discussing current ideas and debates in the world of music. Seeks to publish articles written by contemporary musicians and other experts that are engaging, accessible and full of new thinking.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy
A peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
Psychology of Music
Peer-reviewed studies that increase the scientific understanding of any psychological aspect of music, including listening, performing, creating, memorizing, analyzing, describing, learning, and teaching.
Music Theory Online
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal of scholarship in music theory and analytical essays.
American Music
Peer-reviewed articles and special issues devoted to American music in the broadest sense, including musical practices of North, South, and Central America as well as American musics performed anywhere in the world.