LibGuides: .Art & Design Subject Guide: Databases

EBSCOhost combined search

Search includes:
Academic Search Premier
Art Index
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Newspaper Source

Reference resources

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and finding aids.

The Dictionary of Art by Jane Turner (Editor)
Call Number: Reference N31 .D5 1996
ISBN: 1884446000
A comprehensive encyclopedia covering art topics and terms. Also provides biographical sketches of major artists.
Dictionary of artists by Benezit
Call Number: Reference N40 .D5213 2006
A comprehensive international encyclopedia of artists.
American art directory
Call Number: Reference N50 .A54
A directory of art organizations in the United States.
World Painting Index by Patricia Pate Havlice
Call Number: Reference ND45 .H38
An index to reproductions of paintings included in published books.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Gerald W. R. Ward
Call Number: Reference N8510 .G76 2008

Find Articles - Top Databases

Art Index This link opens in a new window
Find articles published in more than 400 sources covering art history, crafts, computer graphics, folk art graphic arts, sculpture, painting, photography and textiles. Covers articles published since 1984. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. To find articles published between 1929 and 1984, consult the print version of Art Index in our Reference collection.

Find articles published in journals, newspapers, magazines and books.

Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Search more than 5 million articles published in fine arts and music sources. More than 150 of the journals in the Fine Arts and Music Collection are covered in the Art Index and the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) indexes and are available in full-text.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Covers articles published between 1975 and 2007. Published by the Getty Research Institute of the J. Paul Getty Trust and the French Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS).
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides research in communication and mass media studies and in closely-related fields of study. A unique feature of the database is the inclusion of Author Profiles, providing biographical, bibliographic, and contact information for the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.

Digital images and online videos

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based service for streaming educational videos distributed by Films Media Group. This vast archive currently includes more than 6,100 complete titles and 63,000 individual segments which may be viewed legally by current WOU students, faculty and staff anytime, anywhere. Videos are organized into comprehensive curriculum-based collections. View in Windows Media or Flash format.

Find digital images and online streaming videos.

Related Guides

.Art & Design Subject Guide
by Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon Last Updated Aug 15, 2024 43 views this year

Contact WOU Library

Need Immediate Help?

Information Desk student staff are ready to help you during all library hours.

Chat online:
Phone: 503-838-8418
Text Message: 503-383-9681 (WOU1)
Email: libweb@wou.edu

Depending on the complexity of your question, they may forward it to librarians or staff.

Request Research Assistance

Consult with a WOU Librarian