 |
WOU Showcase Recent Faculty & Staff Publications Ongoing rotating exhibit of faculty and staff publications from January 2011 to September 2011. |
| 2012-1013 Exhibits | |
 |
'turned out' works by Tishri Whiteside, Salem, OR artist September-December 2012 Curator: Tishri Whiteside |
| A century of Todd Hall A WOU Archives exhibit September-December 2012 Curator: Jerrie Lee Parpart |
|
|
Alumni Art: Remembering Western |
|
|
A Day at WOU |
|
| Mathematics! 3rd floor galleries April-May 2013 Curator: Dr. Breann Fleishman, WOU professor |
|
| Professional Concerns Art Students Senior art students present their work 3rd floor galleries early June 2013 |
|
| 2013-2014 | |
| Oregon Archaeology Celebrations: Invitations to the Past 3rd floor galleries September - December 2013 This exhibit promotes Oregon's Cultural Past by featuring the unique annual Oregon Archaeology Celebration (OAC) posters that each call attention to an aspect of Oregon archaeology. There's an introductory frame and then one poster for each year from 1994 through 2011, with a new poster added each year in October for the current year's OAC. The poster cover a range of topics including climate change, volunteers in archaeology, Fort Rock Cave, a coastal shell midden site, preservation of ship wrecks, technology through time, and the Oregon Trail. |
|
| Professional Concerns Art Students Senior art students present their work 3rd floor galleries early June 2014 |
|
| Exhibits Coordinator Contact Information |
|
Jerrie Lee Parpart voice: 503-838-8419 parparj@wou.edu |
| Comments and Suggestions |
| We appreciate your comments about the exhibits program! Your suggestions, comments, complaints and questions may be entered below. We will gladly reply to you directly if you supply your name and contact information. Your name will not appear in public. |
Exhibit Information and Forms
Exhibits Mission
Provide a venue for presenting visual and textual information and performances which expose students and staff to topics and experiences that augment the classroom curriculum.
The Library provides several spaces within the Hamersly Library for the purpose of gallery exhibits and performances, including, in the past:
These exhibit spaces provide WOU faculty and students an avenue to showcase their skills and talents. They provide an extension of the classroom for WOU faculty; the library has hosted several exhibits curated by faculty and students on topics/issues that they have been studying. Finally, the exhibits program provides a way for the library to “extend” its resources – to find cultural and artistic information from other individuals or areas outside the university and to bring it to the campus.
We invite you to browse information on our past exhibits, submit a proposal for an exhibit of your own, or to join our mailing list to receive information about upcoming exhibits.
Hallie Ford Museum of Art
Salem, Oregon
River Gallery
Independence, Oregon
Fairbanks Gallery at Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon
Exhibits Announcement Request Form
To receive email announcements or postcard notifications of future exhibits at the Hamersly Library, please submit the form below. Your name will be added to our Exhibits Announcement List.
The Hamersly Library Exhibit Program is sponsored in part by the generosity of private donations. If you are interested in supporting the Library's Exhibits Program, please contact Dr. Allen McKiel, Dean of Library and Media Serivces, Hamersly Library Room 206C or 503-838-8886
Exhibits by Title
Exhibits by Curator
2000 - 2001
2001 - 2002
2002 - 2003
2003 - 2004
2004 - 2005
2005 - 2006
2006 - 2007
2007 - 2008
2008 - 2009
2009 - 2010
2010 - 2011
2011 - 2012
Exhibits in 2011-2012
| 
| 
| 
| All Past Exhibits
WOU Showcase
Mario & Alma PastegA Awards 2010-2011
July to mid-September 2011
Curators: Elizabeth Salisbury and Bethany Glasscock, WOU Archives Students
Professional Concerns Art Students
Senior art students present their work
3rd floor galleries
Curators: Marcus Bellon and David Gu
Make a Joyful Texture
Selected work from the St Mark's Art Collection
2nd floor gallery
June-mid-August 2011
Curator: Jerrie Lee Parpart
Art is a Verb: Alfred P Maurice
2nd and 3rd floor galleries
September 19 - December 9, 2011
Curators: Jerrie Lee Parpart, WOU Exhibits Coordinator
Exhibit Assistants: Alexandria Westlund, Elizabeth Salisbury and Bethany Glasscock
Edward Gorey
2nd floor lobby
September - December 2011
Curator: Elizabeth Salisbury, WOU Archives Student
A Glimpse of the Past: MAY DAY
A WOU Archives exhibit
3rd floor galleries
July to mid-August 2011
Curators: Elizabeth Salisbury and Bethany Glasscock, WOU Archives Students
We Are Family: works by Rollie Wisbrock
2nd floor gallery
January 9 - March 18, 2012
Curator: Rollie Wisbrock, Salem, OR artist
Hidden Transparencies - Institutions in Our Community
3rd floor galleries
January 9 - March 18, 2012
Curator: Judy Wong, Salem, OR artist
Michele Feder-Nadoff Jewish Artist, Chicago, IL
3rd floor galleries
April 9 - May 28, 2012
This event funded, in part, by a Polk County Cultural Coalition grant.
Kanaan Kanaan Palestinian Artist, Portland, OR
2nd floor gallery
April 9 - June 15, 2012
This event funded, in part, by a Polk County Cultural Coalition grant.
Passing A Performance by Michele Feder-Nadoff & Kanaan Kanaan
1st floor Lobby
Wednesday, May 16, 2012
This event funded, in part, by a Polk County Cultural Coalition grant.
Reception courtesy of the Cannon Gallery of Art.
Professional Concerns Art Students
Senior art students present their work
3rd floor galleries
June 2 - July 27, 2012
Curators: Anna Holt, Sarah Fast, Mary Schuck